ARC Review: Midnight Marked By Chloe Neill


Midnight Marked, the 12th novel in one of my favorite book series entitled the Chicagoland Vampire Series was published today, and I imagine many fans were waiting for their copy at midnight. How apropos. I believe that every fan of this author, genre, and series will always be waiting for the clock to strike midnight!

FB_IMG_1434729207598

I cannot believe that this was the second to last book in this series, and I will be sad to see it end. I am getting ahead of myself, because that is still a year away, and we all have plenty of time to prepare for it. We still have this book, as well as the ones that came before it. I think what I love most about this series is that is has truly stood the test of time.

This book series never once lost its pace or momentum, and every book that was released felt new, and fresh. The story never became stale, and the threats were real, and not over the top. As far as threats to Methan, Cadogan House, and Chicago go, it was a relief that there was only one, as opposed to three or four in this installment of the series.

In my opinion, Ethan and Merit have come full circle in their relationship, and a lot of beautiful moments were shared. At times, I felt like we, as fans were taken memory lane when they talked about things that have happened in the past. These two have been through hell and back, and came out of it closer together than ever before!

“We may fight again, Sentinel. We may rail at each other until the sun breaches the sky. But the truth is this. I love you. And I found you once, that April night. I will always look for you, and I will always find you.”

I have been waiting for one special thing to happen for the past 11 books, and I am pretty sure I sent out a one-word tweet with the hashtag #MidnightMarked to Chloe Neill. That tweet read “FINALLY”!  It was all a blur, so it could have been a dream!  I thought the moment was perfect, and proof that its okay when something special did not quite go as planned.

It has been a little rough between Merit, the RG and her partner Jonah for a while now, and things sort of came to a head in this book. I think they might have forgotten what their true goal was in forming the Red Guard in the first place, and Ethan is no longer affiliated with the GP anymore. I think they would all be better off working together, at least Jonah finally got that through his head.

Midnight Marked was beautifully written, as usual, and in a way that only Chloe Neill can, with her usual snarky humor, and well thought out plots!  Now that the thing that we have been waiting for finally happened, I am looking forward to seeing how Chloe wraps it all up. We still have the pregnancy issue, and how that will come about to deal with. Midnight Marked perfectly set-up what is sure to be one hell of a final book! I am really looking forward to reading it!

Of course, as I said that is still a year away, and it will give fans time to complete a series read all over again. It would be nice to experience it all again from the beginning, and you always get more out of a third, fourth or even a fifth read!

My Rating: 5 stars baby!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in ARC Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ARC Review: Midnight Marked By Chloe Neill

  1. Pingback: Book Reviews | SVM & TB Stories

Leave a Reply

