The Veil Blog Tour, Interview and Giveaway


I am very excited to be a part of the Blog Tour for Chloe Neill’s new book entitled’The Veil’! It is book one in her new series entiled ‘The Devil’s Isle’. I have read this book a total of three times since receiving the ARC!

THE-VEIL-social-share-1

SYNOPSIS

Seven years ago, the Veil that separates us from what lies beyond was torn apart, and New Orleans was engulfed in a supernatural war. Now, those with paranormal powers have been confined in a walled community that humans call the District. Those who live there call it Devil’s Isle.

Claire Connolly is a good girl with a dangerous secret: she’s a Sensitive, a human endowed with magic that seeped through the Veil. Claire knows that revealing her skills would mean being confined to Devil’s Isle. Unfortunately, hiding her power has left her untrained and unfocused…

Liam Quinn knows from experience that magic makes monsters of the weak, and he has no time for a Sensitive with no control of her own strength. But when he sees Claire using her powers to save a human under attack — in full view of the French Quarter — Liam decides to bring her to Devil’s Isle and the teacher she needs—even though getting her out of his way isn’t the same as keeping her out of his head.

As more and more Sensitives fall prey to their magic, and unleash their hunger on the city, Claire and Liam must work together to save New Orleans, or else the city will burn…

MY REVIEW

It is so inherently different from the CLV that while you could tell Chloe wrote it, it was as if she put on a different authors hat and gave us something mystical and magical.

I could see New Orleans but not as we know her to be. The NOLA in The Veil was a stripped down version that everyone still loved and remembered it from what it was. I felt the brutal destruction of it and was sad. You can read more of my spoiler free review HERE

INTERVIEW WITH AN AUTHOR

1. I know you watch TV while writing so was there anything you watched that gave you the idea for The Veil? If not, what inspired the idea?

I mostly watch snarky, animated TV, so it tends to inspire attitude, not events. 🙂 That said, I’ve always wanted to write a novel set in the south, and I’ve considered lots of ways to do that. I took three ideas to my editor, and she suggested we combine a couple of them. Thus, THE VEIL was born!

2. Chicago has been your backdrop for the CLV and you know all about that city (for good reason). How much research was involved for The Veil in regards to New Orleans?

I’m currently writing the twelfth Chicagoland Vampires novel, and I’m still researching and learning more about Chicago. I think you really have to. Same is true about New Orleans. I’ve done a lot of research about food, origin, locations, and the spirituality of the city, and I’ll keep doing that as long as I’m writing the Devil’s Isle series.

3. You recently mentioned on your Facebook page that you could see Nick Bateman as Liam (to which I agree 100%) so who is your Claire?

I don’t have an actress in mind, although I think the cover Claire looks a lot like Julianne Moore. I think her cover image is clear enough that she’s my visual of the character.

4. You were recently at Comic Con, what were your highlights of the annual convention? My friends said it was more of a madhouse this year than usual!!

There were so many! I got to meet Sam Sykes, Beth Cato, Gena Showalter, and Suzanne Johnson. I saw the cast of Archer, one of my favorite animated series, and I got to hang out with the Penguin Random House crew while we watched the Outlander crew arrive for a signing. That was pretty amazing!

Thanks for having me today!

SWAG GIVEAWAY

I am giving away some very cool ‘The Veil’  and CLV Swag that I am sure you will just love. I was almost tempted to keep some for myself! 😝 I am sorry but the giveaway is *OPEN TO U.S. RESIDENTS ONLY OVER THE AGE OF 18*

SWAG INCLUDES

  • THE VEIL tote bag
  • THE VEIL 5″x5″ cloth screenwipe
  • THe VEIL bookmarks, sticker, and pen
  • Chicagoland Vampires sticker, pen, and lanyard.

Simply follow the instructions on the Rafflecopter widget linked below. Entries will be accepted from today until August 10th at midnight! Winner will be chosen randomly and will be emailed within 3 to 4 days after winner is randomly chosen. Please allow 30 days for delivery after winner is announced.

The Veil Swag Giveaway

The fun doesn’t stop here. Want more chances to win? You can also enter THE VEIL Grand Prize Giveaway, which runs July 27 through August 7 at Chloe’s website.

What is the Grand Prize Giveaway prize?

  • Fleur de Lis Amulet Pendant Necklace from New Orleans jewelry designer Mignon Faget
  • Kindle (WiFi)
  • $50 Amazon Gift Card
  • THE VEIL 5″x5″ cloth screenwipe
  • THE VEIL tote bag
  • THE VEIL bookmark, sticker, and pen
  • Chicagoland Vampires bookmark, sticker, pen, keychain, and lanyard

You can pre-order and purchase the book at any of the following: Amazon| Barnes & Noble| iBooks| PowellsBooks-A-MillionKoboIndieboundAudible

THE VEIL Blog Tour Schedule- MORE WAYS TO WIN SWAG and read other great blogger reviews!

Week One

Monday, July 27 – SassyCats’s Book ReviewParanormally Yours
Tuesday, July 28 – Fantasy Is More Fun| Reaffirming My Bookworm Status
Wednesday, July 29 – YA Book Nerd  | Happiness is a Book
Thursday, July 30 – Stat Crossed Book BlogDandelionne Wine Book Blog| The Book Swarm
Friday, July 31 – Parajunkee| All Books Considered| Wild Wordy Women| Professional Fan Girls Professional Fan Girls

Week Two

Monday, August 3 –Dark Faerie Tales (Deadly Destinations Event)Creative House BlogTrue Bookies Review|Andrea Heltsley
Tuesday, August 4 – Reed’s Reads & Review| The Saucy Wenches| My Lifes, Loves and Passion
Wednesday, August 5 –Bad Bird Reads
Thursday, August 6 – Booklovers for LifeSpines & Covers
Friday, August 7 –The Book Nympho (Stomp v. Romp)

Good Luck and I hope you enjoy the book!!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Authors, Chloe Neill, Giveaway, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

