ARC Review: The Veil By Chloe Neill


Veil

As a huge fan of Chloe Neill, I was very excited to learn that she was writing a new series.The premise behind the new series sounded very promising and I was intrigued. I love the world she created in the CLV so much that I figured she can’t go wrong with this brand new series! She has never let me down before so surely she wouldn’t start now! I was so excited when I received the ARC that I started reading it that very night.

Was my loyalty or confidence misplaced? Did I have that same loyalty and confidence after I finished reading? Did I love the first book in Ms.Neill’s new Devils Isle Series? Join me after the jump and I will tell you all my (spoiler free) thoughts!

Chloe Neill is a master weaver at world building and this is evident with every detail she wrote in The Veil. The book is set in New Orleans but not the NOLA we have come to know through personal experience or via the world wide web. The way New Orleans was described in this book reminded of the devastation that Hurricane Katrina brought to the region.

I love when an author writes a book that is mirrored in some reality and this was done perfectly. I was glad that the time was taken to vividly describe the new war torn city that it’s citizen’s have adjusted to, the city they still love and take pride in.

The characters draw a reader in fast, even if it seems the pace at the beginning is slow, that’s just more of that world building coming into play. Soon, that world and the fantastic characters collide into something fantastic and you are hooked.

Claire is a very smart,strong,beautiful character who the reader can relate to on so many levels. She has vulnerabilities and a fear of the unknown that only make her stronger, and her loyalty knows no bounds.

Liam is a sexy bounty hunter who quickly becomes Claire’s savior,in keeping her from becoming a permanent part of another section of the world that she has only heard horror stories of, Devil’s Isle. He is super confident in his ability to get things done, no matter how tough the situation. There is a major difference between being cocky and being arrogant. Liam is the right kind of cocky,and not of the I-want-to-slap-that-arrogance-right-out-of-a-person-variety.

There was something else I felt that the author got right, and that is the lesson of never judging a book by it’s cover,for in both the real and fictional world’s, things are never quite what they seem.

Cross through The Veil on August 4th to meet Claire, Liam and some truly wonderful supporting characters that will leave you wanting more at the end of this all new series. My tweet to Chloe after having finished the book read ‘100% done and 100% hooked’! I think you will be as well.

The blog tour for The Veil continues Monday and I am one of the lucky bloggers that got a spot on that tour so check back here on Monday for more of The Veil goodness!

My rating: 5 well earned stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in ARC Reviews, Authors, Books, Chloe Neill and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ARC Review: The Veil By Chloe Neill

  1. Pingback: The Veil Blog Tour, Interview and Giveaway | TRUBOOKIESREVIEW

Leave a Reply

