The Magical World Of Ink and Bone


20643052

I was browsing through my Twitter timeline and saw a tweet regarding this book on my timeline and one word caught my eye, Alchemy. That is, if I am remembering it right. I know what I did next though, I immediately sent a tweet to the author. The tweet stated that I was tempted to ask for an ARC. Ms.Rachel Caine tweeted back stating that she thought they still had a few and to give my mailing information at her website. In my experience, receiving an ARC had never been that easy!

I figured it was my lucky day.  There is a normal procedure one has to go through in order to receive an ARC. As it turns out, it was not that easy as her assistant emailed me with a response that all review copies were sent out. I was okay with this as I knew this was not the normal procedure. I still had to read it as I was too intrigued not to and I got the book on release day.

FROM MY GOODREADS
Ink and Bone (The Great Library, #1)Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When I first read the synopsis, I thought to myself ‘No one can own books at all’?! What the hell kind of world doesn’t allow a person to own a book? I didn’t think about the word Alchemy again after reading that for quite some time. I could not imagine living in a world where books are not allowed to be enjoyed by everyone.

In the year 2031, only the Great Library can legally own and store original books. Why? Quite simply, knowledge is power and only the Great Library can hold such power. Everything that contains information , including personal journals is the property of the Great Library.

I found everything about the Library intriguing, from the codex to the archivists, to the scholars, the Garda and the obscurists. While I loved that Great Library kept such beautiful card of original books, I didn’t like how much control over those said books.

I loved the diversity of the postulants, the ones who tested to join the service of the library and the six who were left at the end. I felt bad for Jess because he was truly stuck in between a rock and a hard place, i.e. the library (who knows all) and his family (book theives and smugglers). This book hooked me with the magic of alchemy and terms such as ink lickers and burners. I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series.

View all my reviews

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Authors, Books, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

