Nothing Ugly About Ugly Love


Do you want to know the best thing about being in the blogging business? That would be getting book recs from your friends and other bloggers! A few days ago, in our own little secret place on Facebook a rec was given by some great friends.

Actually, the idea for getting this particular book came from an article that appeared on a friends newsfeed. The article was shared in our little group. We read it (I only skimmed it) and just like the book lovers that we are, we were intrigued.

I believe my words were ‘Color me intrigued’! We got the book on Thursday and I was finished reading it by Friday night. So I am here now, and ready to give my thoughts on it. I know this book has been out a while but a book can never have too many reviews!!

wpid-wp-1432957890572.jpeg

There was something about ‘Ugly Love’ that drew me in right from the beginning. This was the second book in two weeks that captivated me right from the jump. I simply could not put it down.

Now before I continue with my review of Ugly Love, I want to talk a bit about the article that intrigued us bloggers. The article, found HERE was entitled ’12 Reasons Why Ugly Love Will Satisfy You More Than 50 Shades Of Grey’. As I said, I skimmed it and wanted to read the book to see why it was being compared to 50, a book I was not a huge fan.

There is no comparison at all because Ugly Love is an honest telling of how two people can be so attracted to each other in a short amount of time. There is no dominant/submissive relationship between Miles and Tate, no gimmicks, and no games. It was real, raw, and refreshing. It was also very heart wrenchingly honest.

I am not sure a comparison was meant to be made by that article judging by what I read of it but the title suggested otherwise. What it did accomplish was  to lead me to a really great book.

I found the characters to be consistent in their words and actions. There were no ‘plot devices’ that showed up out of the blue to enhance the story or make it pop. The story simply just spoke for itself so much so that it was not needed.

Miles and Tate (that name grew on me) had a chemistry level that was off the charts hot.They had moments where they fought but there was never any mistreatment, nor disrespect between them.

The flashback scenes were well written and slowly gave us insight into who Miles used to be and with each flashback, the reader falls in love with him. We get to see glimpses of what we (and Tate) thinks he is made of.

He makes you love him despite the fact that you get incredibly frustrated with him. The frustration comes from not knowing about his past and what happened that made him come up with his rules.

1. Don’t ask about my past and..
2. Don’t hope for a future

Tate is willing to go along with this because she wants to be with him any way she can. She is a very strong character who has her own ambitions and doesn’t want anything to distract her from that, even Miles and her growing attraction to him. She is an open book, compared to Miles, who is locked up as tight as a drum.

Tate is strong in her resolve of playing by the rules Miles has set (despite having hope) but that gets harder and harder to do as time goes by. The deep emotions that flow between the two really gives a reader the feels.

The ending chapters are strong and will leave you in a very happy place and I had a major giddy book hangover. Tears will be shed before that happens though. It was so good that I automatically began to read it again.

One of my favorite qoutes comes from Tate’s thoughts while at his apartment and I want to share it with you.

The only impressive thing about this apartment is the bookshelf in the living room. It’s lined with dozens of books, which is more of a turn-on to me than anything else that could potentially line his barren walls.

While in the midst of a reading break, I watched the teaser for Ugly Love the movie.

Keep in mind that this was just a teaser for the movie that features Nick Bateman (swoons and fans self) who looks really really good in uniform. It was not a trailer and as of this writing, Nick is the only one who has been cast.

I joked with a friend that I could write a review of that teaser alone, and so I shall, a small one.

I love a man in uniform, any kind of uniform so seeing an already gorgeous Nick Bateman in full pilot regalia was hot. Between that visual and his smooth, sexy voice, you are a goner and you know you are going to watch this movie.

I highly recommend reading this book as it is real, raw, and honest. I give Ugly Love 5 stars and 2 👍👍 up!!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Authors, Books, Colleen Hoover, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nothing Ugly About Ugly Love

  1. maria says:

    Have you read a book by Colleen McCullough called The Touch? read it years ago and too bad no one has thought of making it into a movie, Sam Heughan would be perfect as Alexander Kinross who is a scot to flees to australia, we already know what he looks like with black hair. BTW author passed away this year

    Like

  2. Cheryl says:

    Oh yes gonna read this! Thanks for the recommendation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

