Lucky Break: The Interlude


I love the Chicagoland Vampire series so much that I cannot get enough of it. Thank goodness for amazing friends who highly recommended the series! I read this novella or short story, if you prefer, in less than two days! I would have finished it in one sitting had other things not gotten in the way. Such is life though!

Luck-Break-Final

Merit and Ethan just can’t catch a break (despite the title) when looking to get away for a little R&R and some much needed alone time. After all, they can’t always be Master and Sentinel of Cadogan House, can they? They don’t get any opportunities to be all alone, outside of their top-floor suite of Cadogan House so they deserved a romantic getaway.

It has been a hard winter. Let us welcome the spring.-Ethan Sullivan

They head to their romantic getaway spot in what Merit calls the ‘Orangesplosion’ and you really have to love her wit! Before they can even enjoy the peace and tranquility, the doorbell is ringing and they are soon caught up in a murder mystery.

Normally, for me a novella gives me a quick fix in the wait for the next book in the series but this was so much more in a way. It had all the feel of what we get in a main novel …Mystery…Check….Action…Check..Merit kicking ass and not taking names…Check!, just minus all the depth and history.

I found myself so caught up in the murder mystery that involved a long standing feud between shifters and vampires, that I forgot (for a moment or two) that Ethan and Merit left to get away from conflict, chaos and a constant battle. Play time was over before it ever officially began. In the end, two mysteries were solved and Merit and Ethan never really got what they came there for in the first place! Maybe next time they will go someplace where no one knows their name…is that even possible?

Lucky Break was everything you could want in a CLV book and then some, it’s no wonder it made it to the number one spot on the best-seller list! Chloe was beyond excited, so much that she could not concentrate on editing! I was there, I saw that tweet!

While it was nice to get away from all the hustle and bustle of life back in Chicago, I miss everyone there, all of Cadogan House, the Ombudsman, and Mallory and Catcher so it’s on to Dark Debt! I will have a review of that book on release day!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Books, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

