Burn Baby Burn….


I must have been living under a rock or hanging out in a wet cave, like I’m Jamie Fraser, hiding out from the Redcoats. It was either that or I was crazy not to have picked up any book written by Ilona Andrews! It’s not that I did not want to read them because the books did not sound intriguing before this one, it was quite simply because I was late to the game.

It’s that I would have to play a massive catch up game with the Kate Daniels series and my TBR list was already a huge pile that I had to choose from. Then along comes Burn For Me and my friends were loving it from the jump so I joined in on the read. I am so glad I did for it was well worth it. Stick with me through the jump and I will tell you all about it, well some of it anyway! I’m not going to give up all the goods, those you have to read for yourself

photo-2

From the very beginning of the book, you will find yourself hooked. The mere idea that a simple serum could give a person a magical talent beyond their wildest dreams is enough to invest a reader and spike their interest. The users of magic were segregated into five different ranks: Minor, Average, Notable, Significant, and Prime. The geek in me couldn’t help but think ‘with great power comes great responsibility’ and we all know how that can get twisted.

I just need to shout out from the highest rooftop, maybe even from Everest (if I survived the high altitude climb that is) how much I loved this book. Burn is everything that a reader of urban fantasy can ask for, yet it is so much more! Only a really good author can make me feel as if I am watching a movie rather than reading a book. That’s how good Burn is!

Action-Check
Drama-Check
Suspense-Check
Magic-Check
Sweet Seduction-Check
Supernatural Feel-Check
Kick ass Heroine-Check
Kick ass/Gorgeous Anti-Hero-Check
Villains-Check

I don’t know about anyone else who read this book but I felt as if I were reading a cross between a Justice League and X-Men comic with all the magical elements of a Superhero and a Mutant intact. Mad Rogan is the equivalent of ‘Magneto’ but on a whole other level/scale and Adam is definitely of the ‘Human Torch’ variety.

Nevada, our heroine, is a human lie detector which makes her a very good PI. I think there is more to her than meets the eye due to some little nuggets that were dropped into the story by the author.

Burn is not a fluffy PNR but that is not to say it lacked hot moments. The hot moments are there and they leave you wanting more. If you are a fan of the slow burn (like me) then you are in for a treat.

Nevada is a no-nonsense type person who is good at her job and she stands her ground, no matter who or what gets in her way. She knows how to level the playing field.

Mad Rogan is well, MAD to be honest but you can feel the raw power and sex that just oozes off him. He could be one of the poster boys for anti-heros everywhere. He also has this other nifty little power that he is capable of and it will leave you breathless. I am not about to spoil it for you though!

A FEW TEASERS

“Mad Rogan was … ” I raised my hands, trying to make the right words come out.
“Like standing in a hurricane,” my mother said.

“For example, if you’re terrified of snakes, repeated handling of them will cure it.”
Aha. “I’m not handling your snake.”
He grinned. “Baby, you couldn’t handle my snake.”

I am going to put this out there now for future reference, Mad Rogan has my nomination, backing/support, and votes for THE ALPHA MALE in the next showdown over at Vampire Book Club! He is right up there with Ethan and Reyes! You heard it hear first!

I read this book in two days flat and I am going in again for another read, it was that damn good!!

My Goodreads Rating: 5 well deserved stars! If you have not read Burn For Me, what are you waiting for? If you have read it, sound off with your thoughts in the comments!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Authors, Ilona Andrews, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Burn Baby Burn….

  1. Pingback: Pitching My Champion Alpha Male….. | OutlanderDreaming

Leave a Reply

