Let’s Talk Outlander


outlander

We have seen all the trailers, watched all the Q&A’s and seen the first episode entitled Sassenach. There have been discussions galore before and after the episode aired. These discussions and more are what I will be focusing on in this post.

BOOK vs. SHOW

This is not my first rodeo when it comes to a favorite book series of mine being adapted for television. The appropriate phrase here is, ‘been there, done that’ so I recognize the signs of comparing the two mediums.

You can take it from me that it will only cause great anxiety if fans constantly compare and nit-pick every thing that happens in the show verses the book.

I was and still am a part of the True Blood fandom (adapted from the Sookie Stackhouse Novels) because I always finish what I start. I never wanted, nor needed an exact, word for word adaptation of that series. What I did need is for the adaptation to remain true to the spirit of the books. True Blood went above and beyond that by taking away what MADE the books good. They took a strong, independent heroine and turned her into a needy, dependent little girl. Where there should have been progression in her character, there was regression.

Pivotal plot points that were essential to one characters part in the story were either given to another character or completely taken away, thus changing the whole dynamic. It was a major turn off and fans of both mediums did not understand why there were so many changes that were so drastic. If they were just going to change things in such major ways, then why not come up with their own story? Why a book to television adaptation?

The powers that be at Outlander are staying true to the spirit of the book series they are adapting a show from. I know we are only one episode in but this is the best adaptation of a book series I have seen to date. I don’t need it to be verbatim but let me tell you, after all I have seen from the likes of True Blood, it was lovely to see and hear my favorite parts done exactly right.

In short, I can handle little changes because it helps those who have not read the books understand the dynamic of what is going on. These little bitty changes here and there will be no big deal because it won’t effect the outcome of where the story is going. They won’t change the overall premise of the story.

In fact, fans should count their lucky stars that at least a major, pivotal plot point or line said or done by Jamie was and is not actually given to another character, therefore changing the whole dynamic.

My advice is to not sweat the small stuff because the really good stuff will be shown to the fans who have been reading this awesome series for over twenty years!

WHAT’S IN A TRIANGLE?

Now, let’s talk about the cover of TV Guide which feature Sam and Cat as Jamie and Claire. I love the cover, except for one tiny little thing, the word TRIANGLE! It does not even belong anywhere near this series, book or show.

This is not a true triangle because in order to have a triangle, all three parties involved must be present (in the same time and place daily) and the woman struggles with her feelings for both men. It is a struggle that is constant because both men are vying for her attention and love. In Outlander, that is not the case.

Ron wanted to show the connection and love between Frank and Claire so that viewers(who might not have read the book)can see why she wants so desperately to get back to him. Neither Ron nor HERSELF have ever used the word TRIANGLE when it comes to this amazing story.

As you can probably tell, TRIANGLES are a bit of a sore subject for me as they are boring and predictable. Why the mainstream media wants to turn every television show into a threesome triangle is beyond me.

Sure, there might be some who will feel sorry for Frank but I can guran-damn-tee you that there will not be a separation of TEAMS during the running of this show, thank GOD! No #TeamFrank or #TeamJamie, at least not for me! I just know I am #TeamOutlander and there’s the two of us now!

What say you? Sound off below!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Diana Gabaldon, Outlander and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Talk Outlander

  1. FairytaleAmber says:

    I have not yet read the book series but the first episode has me hooked. I’m so over triangles as well. Goodbye high school! I love the history/sci fi feel so far, excited for more. Thanks for the review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

