Through The Stones: Sassenach


outlander

JESUS H ROOSEVELT CHRIST! The kilt dropped last night for almost all the world to see when the first episode Sassenach was released on a variety of platforms! I thought, surely we were going to break the internet! Before I get on with the goodness that was the first episode, I would like to thank Kathi and Monica for introducing me to the book series for without them, I might not be witnessing such greatness!

I would also like to thank HERSELF for writing this amazing series,for without her, this show would not be a reality.

I would like to thank Ron D Moore, Starz and everyone involved for bringing one of my favorite book series and it’s scenes out of my mind and onto a TV screen. It was truly magical and I had tears in my eyes as it was utterly beautiful. THANK YOU!

OPENING SEQUENCE

I was in awe of how true to the source material this episode was and I truly felt as if the words from the book were jumping off the page and right onto the television screen. It was truly breathtaking and before I could only imagine how DG felt when she first saw the adaptation. Now, I know how she felt.

I have watched other book to TV adaptations and where they have failed to truly master giving fans and viewers the heart, soul,and crux of that series, and falling woefully short, Outlander has delivered in SPADES! Did you pay attention? Because this is how adapt a book to television!! Well done Ron D.Moore you are the master of book to film in my eyes.

It was in hearing Claire telling her story,and her thoughts that I felt goosebumps and thought this show is going to be my undoing, in a good way and that I never wanted to stay home on a Saturday night more than I do now. I was initially concerned at how Claire’s voice over was going to come across but I should not have been at all. It flowed really well, allowing fans of the book to be further engaged into the story as well as engaging non_readers into her story.

FRANK AND CLAIRE

It was nice to see the love they share between them and if I was not already madly in love with one Jamie Fraser, I would be rooting for her to make it back through the stones and into his arms. You can see why she will be determined and motivated to find her way back to him. Speaking of Frank, Tobias Menzies is hands down, a brilliant actor, he transformed from a sweet, loving husband to snake in the grass ‘Black Jack’ right before my eyes. It was truly like watching day turn to night!

IMG_49537121673599

IMG_49696951354995

Caitriona Balfe, as Claire was so awesome, she as well stepped off the page. Claire is one tough cookie and it was great seeing her come to life in the form of Cat. I love Claires sass, wit and regard for life. I could not think of a better person to play her.

THROUGH THE STONES

I know I am repeating myself when I say once again that the words just continue to leap off the page. When one reads a book that is rich and detailed in description, the scenes can be pictured by the reader and it is as if they are with the character, right by their side and experiencing the same things as that character. A book, especially a good book, will take you anywhere and this first episode of Outlander had that same effect on me. I traveled through the stones, once again, and it was just as beautiful as ever.
IMG_49546051544204

JAMIE

If I was not in love with Jamie Fraser before (like that is is even possible), I am even more so now. Sam Heughan plays a beautiful Jamie, and we have not seen even half of what he can do to bring this character to life. He has truly mastered the essence that is Jamie, his innocence, his strength, determination, and his will to survive is all there, wrapped up in Sam. He has truly embodied and embraced his role as Jamie.He truly is James Alexander Malcolm Mackenzie Fraser come to life. I think the series as a television show was just waiting for him.

IMG_49559769012465

I absolutely loved every minute of this episode, from start to finish and I highly doubt that this how will ever disappoint as it is beyond brilliant! I give this episode much deserved 5 Starz….I think I will watch it again.

What would you rate it? (as if we don’t already know the answer) Sound off below!

P.S. Did I mention that hearing the Gaelic was sexy,despite not knowing what in the world they said?!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Outlander, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Through The Stones: Sassenach

  1. Rick Veal says:

    Hummm … it would appear that I have a new series that I must read … so many books and so little time! đŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Cheryl says:

    I want to thank you for talking me into reading this series of books! My daughter has been telling me for about two years that I should read the Outlander series. But it took you and your blog review for me to finally do it. I’m so glad I did! Now I’m kicking myself and wishing I would not have waited so long. You are so right, I had goosebumps while watching. They could not have picked better actors to play the parts. These are the people I see in my head when I read the books. I’m almost done with book two and I have to keep reading so I stay ahead of the TV series. I don’t want to see things that I haven’t read yet. Thanks again Nymerias for setting me straight!

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      You are verra welcome,Cheryl, I told you they don’t disappoint! You are on fire with how fast you are reading them! I am so glad you are enjoying the series! Voyager is my personal favorite and you will see why!

      I don’t know about setting you straight but rather guided you to your senses…just teasing! Lolz

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

