The Book Of Life: A Perfect Tenth Knot


YOU'VE GOT MAIL!

YOU’VE GOT MAIL!

“And it all started with A Discovery of Witches” as well as a little manuscript entitled ‘Ashmole 782’ that a reluctant witch called forth from the depths of the Bodleian Library at Oxford. I cannot begin to tell you how excited I was to receive this book in the mail. I know I won’t be laughed at when I tell you that the first thing I did was smell the book. I love the smell of a book, especially a freshly printed book. I was reminded of Rory smelling a book in the middle of the library at Yale.

But I digress! This review won’t be full of spoilers as I want you, the fans of Ms.Harkness and this wonderful trilogy to be just as surprised and delighted as I by what they read. I really could go on forever about it, enjoy, my friends!

What started in “A Discovery of Witches’ and continuing on into ‘Shadow of Night’ comes to a head in the conclusion of The Book of Life. While ADOW and SON served as a prelude to TBOL, giving the reader a back story and all relevant information and history needed, TBOL is different. The Book of Life gets right into the heart of the matter, leaving the reader just as entranced as ever.

The final book was more fast paced than its predecessors, with tons more magic and action taking place than ever before. You will once again travel the country, taking you from France, England, New Haven, New Orleans, Venice and back again. If you have never really traveled (like me) before, don’t worry, this book will take you there and with the amazing detail only a historian can give.

TravelQuotes12

As usual, a person can learn a lot simply by reading a book , be it fiction or non-fiction. As in real life, there are old-fashioned prejudices in this book that some want to strictly adhere to. For example, no fraternization or having a relationship with someone who is either not like you or of the same species. I think the writer did an exceptional job tackling what is considered socially acceptable vs. what is not, in the form of witches, vampires and daemons. I felt it was told in a direct but subtle manner and I hope that others receive the same message I did.

MESSAGE: In the end, I think we learn that despite our differences, we are all just human (even if they happen to be X amount of centuries old) and it does not matter who we love as long as we love well. What was once looked down upon, should no longer be a factor where happiness is concerned, regardless of race, religion or sexual orientation. Acceptance is the key to a brighter future.

This final book in this trilogy will leave you feeling as if the author and her cast of characters cast a permanent spell on you, weaving all the colors of their world onto yours and making you an instant member of their family. I feel very blessed and honored to be a member!

I would like to thank my mother, for never telling me no when I brought home a book order form in grade school. She encouraged me to read, stating that ‘a book could take my anywhere’ and indeed it has.

Second to Joanne for introducing me to this series, if not for this intro, I might not have ‘discovered’ Ashmole 782 and just what AWESOMENESS it would bring.

Last but not least, to Deborah Harkness who is a master weaver in her own right, spinning, casting and knotting a (insert tenth knot here) tale so strong, colorful and powerful, I doubt anyone would ever be able to duplicate or it. Apart from herself, that is and I hope she weaves together another brilliant series soon. This reader is looking forward to being put under a spell by this author again. Well done, Ms. Harkness, well done!

MY RATING: 5 WELL EARNED STARS!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Authors, Deborah Harkness, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Book Of Life: A Perfect Tenth Knot

  1. joanne says:

    my heart is sad, i just placed my BOL on the shelf,it was amazing…has to be one of the best books i ever read,sure some loose ends but all in all maybe left open for more to come,i have never felt so many emotions reading a book before, i laughed,i cried, i felt deep fear ,sadness and terror i really thought matthew was gonna die,,my heart broke for gallowsglass,this is definitly a trilogy i will re read.your blog above is right on,and heres to hoping that DH will miss diana and matthew as much as me and write about them again,…joanne

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I know, I felt the same way. It was an open-ended conclusion. There is room for another book but I would love to see what else she could give us. I would read it in a heartbeat. I loved it, every bit. We can always revisit the characters through another read. I felt bad for Gallowglass as well.

      Like

  2. joanne says:

    my book comes today,can’t wait to read it,great review my friend,,thanks for mentioning me,that was sweet,and thanks to trueblood for bringing us together

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      You are welcome my friend. The only thing TB might have done right is our friendship! We shall see come the final episode! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on this book!

      Like

  3. Rick Veal says:

    Awesome review … I can’t wait to get my copy and find out what happens! đŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

