Q&A With Deborah Harkness Plus TBOL Package Giveaway


I cannot begin to tell you, readers just how excited I am for the final book in the All Souls Trilogy. The Book Of Life will be released July 15th and fans of the series are looking forward to see how it all ends.

TBOL2

I have a treat for you today in the form of a Q&A with the author of this great trilogy, Deborah Harkness. Let me tell you, it is great and provides more insight into TBOL and the trilogy as a whole.

A CONVERSATION WITH DEBORAH HARKNESS

Q: In your day job, you are a professor of history and science at the University of Southern California and have focused on alchemy in your research. What aspects of this intersection between science and magic do you hope readers will pick up on while reading THE BOOK OF LIFE? There’s quite a bit more lab work in this book!

A. There is. Welcome back to the present! What I hope readers come to appreciate is that science—past or present—is nothing more than a method for asking and answering questions about the world and our place in it. Once, some of those questions were answered alchemically. Today, they might be answered biochemically and genetically. In the future? Who knows. But Matthew is right in suggesting that there are really remarkably few scientific questions and we have been posing them for a very long time. Two of them are: who am I? why am I here?

Q: Much of the conflict in the book seems to mirror issues of race and sexuality in our society, and there seems to be a definite moral conclusion to THE BOOK OF LIFE. Could you discuss this? Do you find that a strength of fantasy novels is their ability to not only to allow readers to escape, but to also challenge them to fact important moral issues?

A. Human beings like to sort and categorize. We have done this since the beginnings of recorded history, and probably well back beyond that point. One of the most common ways to do that is to group things that are “alike” and things that are “different.” Often, we fear what is not like us. Many of the world’s ills have stemmed from someone (or a group of someones) deciding what is different is also dangerous. Witches, women, people of color, people of different faiths, people of different sexual orientations—all have been targets of this process of singling others out and labeling them different and therefore undesirable. Like my interest in exploring what a family is, the issue of difference and respect for difference (rather than fear) informed every page of the All Souls Trilogy. And yes, I do think that dealing with fantastic creatures like daemons, vampires, and witches rather than confronting issues of race or sexuality directly can enable readers to think through these issues in a useful way and perhaps come to different conclusions about members of their own families and communities. As I often say when people ask me why supernatural creatures are so popular these days: witches and vampires are monsters to think with.

Q: From the moment Matthew and a pregnant Diana arrive back at Sept-Tours and reinstate themselves back into a sprawling family of witches and vampires, it becomes clear that the meaning of family will be an important idea for THE BOOK OF LIFE. How does this unify the whole series? Did you draw on your own life?

A. Since time immemorial the family has been an important way for people to organize themselves in the world. In the past, the “traditional” family was a sprawling and blended unit that embraced immediate relatives, in-laws and their immediate families, servants, orphaned children, the children your partner might bring into a family from a previous relationship, and other dependents. Marriage was an equally flexible and elastic concept in many places and times. Given how old my vampires are, and the fact that witches are the keepers of tradition, I wanted to explore from the very first page of the series the truly traditional basis of family: unqualified love and mutual responsibility. That is certainly the meaning of family that my parents taught me.

Q: While there are entire genres devoted to stories of witches, vampires, and ghosts, the idea of a weaver – a witch who weaves original spells – feels very unique to THE BOOK OF LIFE. What resources helped you gain inspiration for Diana’s uniqueness?

A. Believe it or not, my inspiration for weaving came from a branch of mathematics called topology. I became intrigued by mathematical theories of mutability to go along with my alchemical theories of mutability and change. Topology is a mathematical study of shapes and spaces that theorizes how far something can be stretched or twisted without breaking. You could say it’s a mathematical theory of connectivity and continuity (two familiar themes to any reader of the All Souls Trilogy). I wondered if I could come up with a theory of magic that could be comfortably contained within mathematics, one in which magic could be seen to shape and twist reality without breaking it. I used fabric as a metaphor for this worldview with threads and colors shaping human perceptions. Weavers became the witches who were talented at seeing and manipulating the underlying fabric. In topology, mathematicians study knots—unbreakable knots with their ends fused together that can be twisted and shaped. Soon the mathematics and mechanics of Diana’s magic came into focus.

Q: A Discovery of Witches debuted at # 2 on the New York Times bestseller list and Shadow of Night debuted at #1. What has been your reaction to the outpouring of love for the All Souls Trilogy? Was it surprising how taken fans were with Diana and Matthew’s story?

A. It has been amazing—and a bit overwhelming. I was surprised by how quickly readers embraced two central characters who have a considerable number of quirks and challenge our typical notion of what a heroine or hero should be. And I continue to be amazed whenever a new reader pops up, whether one in the US or somewhere like Finland or Japan—to tell me how much they enjoyed being caught up in the world of the Bishops and de Clemonts. Sometimes when I meet readers they ask me how their friends are doing—meaning Diana, or Matthew, or Miriam. That’s an extraordinary experience for a writer.

Q: Diana and Matthew, once again, move around to quite a number of locations in THE BOOK OF LIFE, including New Haven, New Orleans, and a few of our favorite old haunts like Oxford, Madison, and Sept-Tours. What inspired you to place your characters in these locations? Have you visited them yourself?

A. As a writer, I really need to experience the places I write about in my books. I want to know what it smells like, how the air feels when it changes direction, the way the sunlight strikes the windowsill in the morning, the sound of birds and insects. Not every writer may require this, but I do. So I spent time not only in New Haven but undertaking research at the Beinecke Library so that I could understand the rhythms of Diana’s day there. I visited New Orleans several times to imagine my vampires into them. All of the locations I pick are steeped in history and stories about past inhabitants—perfect fuel for any writer’s creative fire.

Q: Did you know back when you wrote A Discovery of Witches how the story would conclude in THE BOOK OF LIFE? Did the direction change once you began the writing process?

A. I knew how the trilogy would end, but I didn’t know exactly how we would get there. The story was well thought out through the beginning of what became The Book of Life, but the chunk between that beginning and the ending (which is as I envisioned it) did change. In part that was because what I had sketched out was too ambitious and complicated—the perils of being not only a first-time trilogy writer but also a first time author. It was very important to me that I resolve and tie up all the threads already in the story so readers had a satisfying conclusion. Early in the writing of The Book of Life it became clear that this wasn’t going to give me much time to introduce new characters or plot twists. I now understand why so many trilogies have four, five, six—or more—books in them. Finishing the trilogy as a trilogy required a lot of determination and a very thick pair of blinders as I left behind characters and story lines that would take me too far from the central story of Diana, Matthew, and the Book of Life.

Q: A Discovery of Witches begins with Diana Bishop stumbling across a lost, enchanted manuscript called Ashmole 782 in Oxford’s Bodleian Library, and the secrets contained in the manuscript are at long last revealed in THE BOOK OF LIFE. You had a similar experience while you were completing your dissertation. What was the story behind your discovery? And how did it inspire the creation of these novels?

A. I did discover a manuscript—not an enchanted one, alas—in the Bodleian Library. It was a manuscript owned by Queen Elizabeth’s astrologer, the mathematician and alchemist John Dee. In the 1570s and 1580s he became interested in using a crystal ball to talk to angels. The angels gave him all kinds of instructions on how to manage his life at home, his work—they even told him to pack up his family and belongings and go to far-away Poland and Prague. In the conversations, Dee asked the angels about a mysterious book in his library called “the Book of Soyga” or “Aldaraia.” No one had ever been able to find it, even though many of Dee’s other books survive in libraries throughout the world. In the summer of 1994 I was spending time in Oxford between finishing my doctorate and starting my first job. It was a wonderfully creative time, since I had no deadlines to worry about and my dissertation on Dee’s angel conversations was complete. As with most discoveries, this discovery of a “lost” manuscript was entirely accidental. I was looking for something else in the Bodleian’s catalogue and in the upper corner of the page was a reference to a book called “Aldaraia.” I knew it couldn’t be Dee’s book, but I called it up anyway. And it turned out it WAS the book (or at least a copy of it). With the help of the Bodleian’s Keeper of Rare Books, I located another copy in the British Library.

Q: Are there other lost books like this in the world?

A. Absolutely! Entire books have been written about famous lost volumes—including works by Plato, Aristotle, and Shakespeare to name just a few. Libraries are full of such treasures, some of them unrecognized and others simply misfiled or mislabeled. And we find lost books outside of libraries, too. In January 2006, a completely unknown manuscript belonging to one of the 17th century’s most prominent scientists, Robert Hooke, was discovered when someone was having the contents of their house valued for auction. The manuscript included minutes of early Royal Society meetings that we presumed were lost forever.

Q: Shadow of Night and A Discovery of Witches have often been compared to young adult fantasy like Twilight, with the caveat that this series is for adults interested in history, science, and academics. Unlike Bella and Edward, Matthew and Diana are card-carrying members of academia who meet in the library of one of the most prestigious universities in the world. Are these characters based on something you found missing in the fantasy genre?

A. There are a lot of adults reading young adult books, and for good reason. Authors who specialize in the young adult market are writing original, compelling stories that can make even the most cynical grownups believe in magic. In writing A Discovery of Witches, I wanted to give adult readers a world no less magical, no less surprising and delightful, but one that included grown-up concerns and activities. These are not your children’s vampires and witches.

PRAISE FOR TEH BOOK OF LIFE

“Harkness proves to be quite the alchemist as she combines elements of magic, history, romance, and science, transforming them into a compelling journey through time, space, and geography. By bridging the gaps between Harry Potter, Twilight, and Outlander fans, Harkness artfully appeals to a broad range of fantasy lovers…The conclusion of this paranormal adventure is guaranteed to fly off the shelves.”

—Booklist

“There is no shortage of action in this sprawling sequel, and nearly every chapter brings a wrinkle to the tale. The storytelling is lively and energetic, and Diana remains an appealing heroine even as her life becomes ever more extraordinary. A delightful wrap-up to the trilogy.”

—Publishers Weekly

“In the resolution of the All Souls trilogy…as in the previous two installments, there are healthy doses of action, colorful magic, angst-y romance and emotional epiphany, plus mansion-hopping across the globe, historical tidbits and name-dropping of famous artworks and manuscripts.”

—Kirkus Reviews

Title: The Book of Life
Series: All Souls Trilogy #3
Author: Deborah Harkness
Age Group: Adult
Genre: Fantasy | Paranormal | Historical Fiction
Publication Date: July 15th 2014
Publisher: Viking Adult | Penguin
ISBN: 978-0670025596
Available Formats: Hardcover, E-book, Audio
Find it:GoodReads
Pre-order it: Amazon | BN| The Book Depository

GIVEAWAY
For those who missed out on the last giveaway I held, never fear, here is your second chance. This time the pot has been sweetened a bit because not only will you win Diana’s Commonplace book and a holographic button, you will also be winning a copy of The Book Of Life!

TBOLmockup

Are you excited?! I know you are! All you have to do is click on the link below and you will be taken to the giveaway. Follow the directions on the widget and GOOD LUCK!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Authors, Deborah Harkness, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

158 Responses to Q&A With Deborah Harkness Plus TBOL Package Giveaway

  1. I have heard such wonderful things about this series, and now that the final book is out, this Q&A has me very excited to get started!! Really looking forward to it!

    Like

  2. Pingback: One Week Until TBOL Is Released | TRUBOOKIESREVIEW

  3. Angela says:

    The Q&A is enlightening. It explains a lot!

    Like

  4. Danielle says:

    What a fantastic Q&A. I love this series and am so excited to read the final book. Thank you for the lovely contest!

    Like

  5. Great interview. i am re-reading the first two to get ready!!

    Like

  6. Loved the Q & A! Can’t wait for July 15th.

    Like

  7. Love the Q&A and I Love this series!!

    Like

  8. Mary E Perez says:

    Looking forward to meeting the rest of the family. Hurry July 15th!

    Like

  9. suchadork says:

    I find this very fascinating! You can tell how passionate she is about this book. I can’t wait to read the last book!

    Like

  10. MHogan says:

    Love any interview with Deb Harkness!

    Like

  11. Crystal says:

    This is my absolute favorite series ever! I cannot wait to see what happens and how the loose ends get tied up. I really, really want to win one of the commonplace books! The Q&A was most interesting and insightful. I love hearing where she draws her inspiration from.

    Like

  12. Shannon says:

    I enjoy reading Deborah’s posts and hearing what inspired her to write a trilogy that I absolutely love. I’m bummed there aren’t any book signings in a city near me. Thank you for sharing this Q&A. I enjoyed it very much.

    Like

  13. Sarah Fox says:

    Enjoyed the Q & A! Can’t wait to read!

    Like

  14. Tina Collins says:

    I look forward to reading the Book of Life, I loved the first 2 books and and look forward to the 3rd one. Thank you for the Q&A.

    Like

  15. Pauli says:

    Just finished the ARC of Book of Life and loved it. I hope she finds a way of keeping us in Diana and Matthew’s world.

    Like

  16. Laurie Decker says:

    Excellent Q and A! Can’t wait to read it for myself!

    Like

  17. Tessa Richard says:

    Great Interview and chance for winning the commonplace book. This is a beloved series of mine that I have read repeatedly and hope to find many questions answered in the final book.

    Like

  18. Michelle says:

    This is so informative. I can’t wait for the book.

    Like

  19. Erin Stam says:

    Read and re-read books 1 & 2. Eagerly waiting for book 3. Had an opportunity to read the first few pages of book 3 which brought tears to my eyes. LOVE your writing!

    Like

  20. Lisa Coldiron says:

    I loved the Q &A! I loved learning what inspired her and how math is a part of “weaving”! I would love The Commonplace Book! Now, if I could only wait patiently for July 15! I just finished rereading ADOW and SON and this Q & A will help tide me over!

    Like

  21. Nancy Heard says:

    Excellent Q&A with Deborah Harkness…enjoyed it very much!!

    Like

  22. Kristen says:

    Thank you for this! Definitely explained some things for me. And thank you for writing such an amazing trilogy to invite me back into the world of reading. I cannot thank you enough. Cannot wait to see how everything goes for Diana and Matthew!

    Like

  23. DebiM says:

    Great interview, love the chance to win!

    Like

  24. sueherondale says:

    I always love her Q&A and how she always describe her writing process!

    Like

  25. Shelle says:

    Great Q&A….some of the same questions I would have asked….can’t wait for TBOL…just read Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night again for the 6 or 7th time….I find a new detail each time…

    Like

  26. Julie says:

    Great interview! Now I am even more excited about the book coming out next month (if that’s even possible). I love these books. I just graduated with a degree in history, but also love science and fantasy. These books, along with Deborah’s recommend reading list inspired my senior thesis, which was on the early modern witch craze. Again, so excited! 🙂

    Like

  27. Brooke B. says:

    So exciting to read the Q&A. I loved the first 2 books and really can’t wait to read the 3rd. I love how much time is put into each of the books…you can tell how much research was put in!

    Like

  28. Tracy McLelland says:

    I’ve loved how she ties in current social issues to the storyline. The characters seem real, with real life issues that we all face. Morality, right and wrong and the fact we are sexual beings, what a delightful mixture for a great series. Love DH and thank you for the awesome Q&A with her.

    Like

  29. Dedr79 says:

    So looking forward for the book! Less than a month to go.

    Like

  30. Great Q&A. I am so excited for the final book to come out.

    Like

  31. I can’t wait! Driving to the Poisoned pen for a book signing! Trying to get friends to read the first two before this one is out!

    Like

  32. Barbara Irvin says:

    I am patiently waiting for TBOL release. It will be bittersweet when I am finished reading. I am anxious to find out how the story is finished but will be sad to say goodbye to the beloved characters. I am so excited about this giveaway and I would be the happiest person in this world if I won!

    Like

  33. Shelley says:

    I can’t wait for the final book to come out!! I am very curious to see how everything comes together. Deborah Harkness is my fave author!!

    Like

  34. Jeanette Van Kleeck says:

    I can’t wait! I have the audible book pre-ordered!

    Like

  35. Terri Cole says:

    I actually skipped the Q & A because I was worried about spoilers! I am so excited to finish the trilogy! Thanks for the chance to win a copy.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      Oh, the Q&A is a must read, no real spoilers, I promise. I am not into spoilers either and the Q&A only made me want to read the book more, it was enticing but in no way a spoiler! I understand though completely!

      Like

  36. bshuffman says:

    Excellent Q&A from a very talented author! Thank you so much Deb for the wonderful world you have created and entrusted to us!

    Like

  37. Make Kay says:

    Great Q &A! I can’t wait for this book

    Like

  38. Terri says:

    All I can say is this lady walks on water…Love reading about Deborah and her thoughts on her books and life experiences…She has me traveling the world to visit Matthew and Diana’s haunts…

    Like

  39. Ashley a says:

    Thanks for sharing! CANNOT WAIT TO READ TBOL!!!

    Like

  40. tobey says:

    Great interview, can’t wait for July!!!

    Like

  41. susan emans says:

    Thanks so much for a great interview, and, of course, a chance to win a book I am both looking forward to and dreading. The Burrito of Sadness has been ruling 2014.

    Like

  42. tammy says:

    I love the Q&A… love the insight into the creation of the story.

    Like

  43. Gini says:

    Puts things into just a little different perspective for me in prep for TBOL. Thank you, Deborah!

    Like

  44. Aimee says:

    Thank you for such a great Q&A. Great questions. I cannot wait for the book!

    Like

  45. Sandra Agus says:

    Great questions with intriguing answers. Can’t wait for the book.

    Like

  46. Maggi Setti says:

    I can’t wait to read this book. The last two were captivating!

    Like

  47. Lisa says:

    I think the Q & A was very informative. Now, every time I will go to a library or pass a yard sale, I will wonder if there is a lost manuscript there. Can’t wait to read the book!

    Like

  48. Jodi Schafer says:

    I can’t wait to read the new book! Thanks for taking the time to do this interview!

    Like

  49. mudepoz says:

    Fabulous post. A different Q and A than I’ve read.

    Like

  50. Sue says:

    I enjoyed the interview – interesting and well-thought-out questions and intriguing answers

    Like

  51. Lisa H says:

    Fabulous and very insightful Q&A! Cannot WAIT to read The Book of Life!!

    Like

  52. Theresa Erwin says:

    I feel like this was “just enough” without spoiling any of the BOL content. Excellent balance!

    Like

  53. Calli Hoffman says:

    I thought it was amazing that you found a copy of Dee’s manuscript. It represents all the amazing discoveries that have been made & are still awaiting discovery. I found reading your Q & A just as exciting as your books!

    Like

  54. Belinda says:

    I loved it!

    Like

  55. Rheba says:

    I’m so excited for this book!

    Like

  56. Looking forward to this new book!

    Like

  57. Jenny says:

    I’m psyched to read the first 2 books again before the conclusion is available on the 15th! Thanks for the article.

    Like

  58. Carole in AZ says:

    Thank you so much for posting this Q&A! I am trying to absorb all things ‘Harkness’ in anticipation of 15 July. As a scientist myself, I love the way DH presents information. I had ‘goosebumps’ several times reading it!

    Like

  59. Erica Rugama says:

    This just makes me want to read the book more!

    Like

  60. Brenda Evans says:

    Can’t wait for the new book! Go ahead and read the Q&A– not really any spoilers. I love how these books mix science and history.

    Like

  61. eschurm says:

    Can’t wait for the new book and the St. Paul MN book signing!

    Like

  62. Sue says:

    Loved the Q&A. Love the way she incorporates all the science & history into a wonderful story.

    Like

  63. I love that there is a commonplace book in this giveaway!

    Like

  64. This series is what got me back into reading physical books as opposed to digital format. The cover was so beautiful and the story so magical and smart! Cannot wait until release day and looking forward to the book signing party with Deborah herself here in Denver, Co.!

    Like

  65. Cant wait. Thank you.

    Like

  66. Rachael H says:

    The wait is so long! Can’t wait. 🙂

    Like

  67. Clare Jordan says:

    This is perfect. Dying for the new book! Thank you!!!

    Like

  68. iam4jace says:

    SO excited to see The Book of Life and Deborah Harkness getting all this press. Im almost afraid to read all the Interviews because I dont want to read any spoilers!

    Like

  69. corgimom14 says:

    So EXCITED!!!

    Like

  70. Ruth Lynn Mills says:

    I love the Q&A; it’s like he DVD director’s extras. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

  71. I love Deb! She has such great thoughts and truly cares about the reader experience. I can’t wait for TBOL!

    Like

  72. Amy says:

    Great interview! I’m counting the days until July 15th. I am also very excited that I will be attending the book signing in FL! I am looking forward to meeting her in person.

    Like

  73. Laura says:

    So excited for the third book!!!

    Like

  74. heidi says:

    Love her books!!

    Like

  75. Stacy Sties says:

    Excellent q&a learned a lot.

    Like

  76. Nikki r says:

    Can’t wait to read the end of the all souls trilogy!!

    Like

  77. Barb Ladyansky says:

    I love gathering insight to Deborah’s story development and her writing process. This Q&A gave so much detail and I am very excited for the Book of Life!

    Like

  78. Taryn says:

    Great Q&A! Counting down the days til it comes out!!!

    Like

  79. Lauren says:

    Loved the interview! Cannot wait for the book to come out! Rereading adow now to prep for July 15!!!!

    Like

  80. Chris says:

    Excellent interview

    Like

  81. Kendra M says:

    I loved the visual of math and weaving. That almost made me wish I liked math more, but I will have to be content with my reading habit having an outlet as wonderful as “The Book of Life” Trilogy. Reading and rereading these books have kept me and my extended family members and friends busy with wonderful conversations and more than a little anxiety about what happens next. Thanks Nymerias for giving us a little more time with Deborah Harkness before the next book.

    Like

  82. Theresa Hacker says:

    Loved the Q&A, can’t wait to read this book!

    Like

  83. mamawhodun says:

    Great interview. It lets out a few things about the book and about our author yet doesn’t spoil the fun!

    Like

  84. Hannah says:

    Thanks for the chance to win! I am so looking forward to this book!!!

    Like

  85. Andrea Jones says:

    Great Q&A! I can’t wait for the new book!

    Like

  86. Thanks for the Q&A. It’s always fun to find out the thoughts an author has when they are writing or how their ideas came about.

    Like

  87. cynthiaw says:

    Can’t wait for the third book – I’m afraid to read the Q&A though because I hate spoilerly things.

    Like

  88. Donna says:

    Our small rural library has preordered 2 copies! Our library patrons are excited and counting the days until the release. Enjoyed the insight you shared during the q and a.

    Like

  89. Kate says:

    Looking forward to the book!

    Like

  90. Danielle Hall says:

    I love reading about all the history and details Deborah puts into her books! Great Q&A!

    Like

  91. A fun Q&A for all fans of The All Souls trilogy!

    Like

  92. What a great question and answer! Can’t wait for the new book 🙂

    Like

  93. interesting to find out what inspired her writing and the melding of science and history!

    Like

  94. Mallory Orton says:

    Love the interview! I’ve appreciated the integration of science into the books (especially early science) and find it fascinating that the idea for a weaver came from math! Thanks so much for providing this insight from Deborah!

    Like

  95. Tarri says:

    Love the interview, can’t wait for July to get here.

    Like

  96. I couldn’t read the Q&A I started to but then I got worried about spoiler alerts! Sorry

    Like

  97. Rebecca Auerbach says:

    Reading Deb’s answers is making me more impatient to finally get my hands on the Book of Life!! I am so excited and can’t wait for her signing in NYC 🙂 Thanks for asking such well written questions too!!

    Like

  98. jlw292 says:

    So excited! Great Q&A!

    Like

  99. Donna A says:

    In preparation for BoL I am re listening to DOW and SoN .. I get so totally engrossed in the story. I am so looking forward to see where Diana and Matthew’s journey continues. Thank You Deborah for the hours of pleasure you have brought me.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      Guess I need to try audiobooks even though I prefer reading. I saw in her page that DH said the speaker on the audiobooks does a real good job of getting a listener into the story.

      Like

  100. Jan Martin says:

    Have preordered the ebook and audiobook. Can hardly wait!

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I can’t seem to get into audiobooks but my friends praise them. I want to walk into the authors world and into the characters life by following them wherever they go. I can only do that by reading but I might have to give it a go !

      Like

  101. Traci Barela says:

    Very Enjoyable Q&A, thank-you! I enjoyed the part about how the BOL was finished, especially how threads she would have liked to work on were not followed. What dedication to finishing a book for her readers! I love that this trilogy can be made into anything you want. A quick, fun read or a serious, diligent, researching romp and many levels in between the two. What an amazing gift for us!

    Like

  102. Karen says:

    Thanks so much for this interview. Love it, for its answers as well as for the excitement it maintains for The Book of Life. ” These are not your children’s vampires and witches.” — indeed. If only more of the reviewers would recognize that. It took me longer than others to read ADOW because of the misleading reviews.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I read reviews but don’t take them all to heart. I find out for myself and usually know within the first couple chapters if I like it or not. Regarding TDOW though, it slowly gets you immersed into the story and then it hits you like a ton if bricks.

      Like

  103. Great Q and A! I especially like the question regarding Young Adult fiction. As an adult reader of YA fiction, I immediately fell in love with ADOW, and later SON because it hit all the spots that make YA so enjoyable to me, but there were so many other “grown up” flourishes and aspects that made these books even more rich and rewarding. Essentially, I would compare most YA fantasy books I read to milk chocolate, whereas the All Souls trilogy is sumptuous extra dark chocolate. 🙂 Can’t wait to get my last fix of Harkness-style dark chocolate fantasy with this much anticipated third book!!! (What I will do after that, I don’t know! There are very few books and authors that seem to hit the same sweet spot for me, but I will continue enjoying the search I suppose.)

    Like

  104. R. H. says:

    Really appreciate how some current day issues can be mirrored in the writing.

    Like

  105. Traci Barela says:

    Excellent Q & A. Good answers from Deb. The part about finishing the BOL was very interesting. I think we all like to hear how a writer works.

    Like

  106. Renee Bertola says:

    Wow! Great Q&A! I am SO excited to read the book! Can not wait.

    Like

  107. Rowena says:

    This is the ONLY book on my summer reading list. Thanks for the insightful interview. This series is such a wonderful blending of science and fantasy, and tackles challenging themes in our society the way that only sci-fi or fantasy fiction can. Beautifully and cleverly written, whenever I recommend these (which I do, a lot), I tell people they’re witches and vampires books – for grown-ups!

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I made sure when I talked to my friends of this series to tell them that it is not your typical vampire/ witch novel and that Matthew and Diana are not your typical vampire and witch. It is one of my top series. I like a variety of book genres and I love books that take me away !

      Like

  108. Barbara Stephenson says:

    Great Q&A! Looking forward to release day!

    Like

  109. Carolin says:

    I cannot wait for this book!

    Like

  110. Polly says:

    As many times as I have read the first two books (six for ADOW, three for SON) I am still re-reading as I wait for TBOL. And the Q & A just whetted my appetite for it’s release. I have it on order, with signature, from ‘pages’. And I am still stopping complete strangers in bookstores and libraries, to say “if you want to read a REALLY GOOD trilogy…”

    Like

  111. Leslie says:

    I’m so excited for The Book of Life! Thanks for the great Q&A with Deborah.

    Like

  112. angel says:

    I very much enjoy reading about the ideas that go into creating these books that we love so much!

    Like

  113. cmk281 says:

    I loved the Q&A, and cannot wait for the book to come out!

    Like

  114. Awesome! just like Deb!

    Like

  115. Awesome just like Deb!

    Like

  116. Jaja says:

    Looking forward to the book!

    Like

  117. Jayne says:

    thank you for a wonderful Q & A of this soon to be exciting 3rd book that i can’t wait to read; I have been waiting a very long time to read this book; After all the work i know it will be worth the wait; !!!

    Like

  118. Buzktb says:

    I’m so excited for the book release. This interview was a great way to wet my appetite while I wait for July. Thank you so much!

    Like

  119. Amy DuBrey says:

    I love this books and always love q and a with authors! Thanks for the post!

    Like

  120. Missy C. says:

    Loved it. Very interesting. I am SO EXCITED for the third book to come out! Thank you for the opportunity.

    Like

  121. Missy C. says:

    Very interesting. I am very excited for the 3rd and final book of the series to come out. Thank you for the opportunity.

    Like

  122. izzybella says:

    What an awesome Q&A! Like I needed to be more excited about the Book of Life than I already am. Having just recently visited New Orleans, I’m especially looking forward to Diana’s travels there. This will be the first place Matthew and Diana have visited that I have any firsthand knowledge of. Thank you for doing this!

    Like

  123. Ana R. says:

    Can’t wait for the release. Thank you for the Q&A, great questions by the way!!

    Like

  124. I’m so excited to read this! Thank you for the interview, and for the giveaway!

    Like

  125. Amanda LaComb says:

    This Q&A makes me even more excited than I already was for Book of Life!

    Like

  126. Jan Wickline says:

    Great Q&A! I’m looking forward to this book release, and so are my friends. 🙂

    Like

  127. Great q&a! I can’t wait for this book, these stories have been an amazing journey!

    Like

  128. Jen says:

    Such an inspiration!

    Like

  129. drldeboer says:

    Terrific interview thanks!!

    Like

  130. Teresa M says:

    I love this interview!! I have always been curious where Deb cam up with her weavers in the series and to read her description here was simply amazing. She is so detailed and never hesitates to astound me with her brilliance 🙂 Thank you for a wonderful interview with such an amazing “weaver” in her own right !!

    Like

  131. Michele Cotterman says:

    Absolutely amazing and insightful! Really cannot wait to read this book!

    Like

  132. geenakmom says:

    Loved the Q&A. It’s amazing how much she puts in to it.

    Like

  133. northwoman says:

    Interesting .I’ve read the first 2 books and look forward to seeing how things happen this time. I’ve become more interested in authors this year so I appreciate this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

