Sons Of Anarchy-Faith In Quality TV


Sons_Of_Anarchy_Original_Black_Shirt_POP

I am new to this particular fandom as my friends can attest. These are the same friends that talked non-stop of this show until I finally had to see what all the fuss (good fuss) was about. After a mad week and half of an SOA marathon and watching the first episode the new season, I can say that I now know what all the fuss is about. Damn, this show is off the charts good and topped with a bottle of awesome sauce! Why was I not watching this show before? (SMACKS MY HEAD)

This has got to be one of the best written shows on television because it never fails to stick to it’s original intent and when it wants to shock you with what happens, it actually shocks you. From season to season, the continuity flowed smoothly and left no confusion of the ‘WHAT THE FUCK WAS THAT’ variety, it is just smooth sailing. It is nice to be able to watch a show that is mirrored in some kind of reality and SONS has this in spades. When you do something wrong in this world (as in the real world) there are repercussions and consequences to one’s actions and this show is a master at it.

These repercussions and consequences may not come right away but they do come and it is hard core. It may happen at the hand of the MC, the law itself or from a rival but it happens. There are no rewards or accolades for the misdeeds and wrongs of a person’s actions, Karma bites you in the ass and hard! After coming off yet another disappointing season of True Blood, where none of this shit happens, I was sold on this show for this reason and many others. This is just another show where True Blood could learn a thing or two about satisfying an audience.

JAX TELLER

I have a love/hate relationship with this man. He is an asshole, there are no two ways about it and this fact cannot be denied. IT IS WHAT IT IS! When he is lovable and has that sad little boy look on his face, my heart breaks and I want to hold and kiss him until he feels better. The rest of the time I want to beat his motorcycle club loving ass to a bloody pulp.

I am in his corner when he wants to change things for the club and get out of the dirty business. I can understand his motivations on some things i.e. revenge for Opie’s death and Clay for the things he has done but not on others. What he did to Wendy was wrong on so many levels and now sleeping with yet another skank just because Tara is pushing him away. There are DUMB moves and then there are DICK moves and this was a DICK move! Bad Jax!

soa

I feel sad for him because every time he thinks he is getting the MC away from illegal business, people and circumstances keep pulling him back in and he is really unable to stop it right now. He does not want to be Clay or his old man but this is what he knows and he has to realize that he can change it for the better and it starts with him. As I sit and listen to his thoughts to his boys with the journal he is writing, all I can think is I hope his boys are different.

The school shooting that occurred in this first episode was hard to watch but I see why it needed to be done. I thought this boy was representing a younger Jax at first but soon realized it was headed somewhere. These school shootings happen all the time sadly and I think this was a subtle message by Sutter in how easily kids can get their hands on these guns. These types of actions have major repercussions and consequences and people need to be reminded of it, even if it hurts deeply.

It also serves a purpose for Jax as I think he will stop at nothing to get the club out of this type of business or it is going to happen again. It will be a wake up call for him as you know he will think, that could have been my kids or Opie’s kids. I don’t envy Jax one bit for he is caught between a rock and a hard place. I love and hate Jax at the same time so if anything happened to him, I would be extremely upset but as of right now I am not seeing a happy ending for him. I think it will be a fitting end but a sad one if he does not get off the spiraling route he is on for he has not been the same since the death of Opie. (I balled like a baby during those scenes)

TARA KNOWLES TELLER

tara

I feel confused about her half the time. She wants out but yet does just as much stupid shit as Jax but I understand her more than Gemma who is only selfish. She is torn between the love she feels for Jax and standing by him and protecting herself and her kids. Protection is winning out and I don’t blame her one bit. If Jax does not want to join them, well that is his loss. I love them together but it cannot happen right now, not until Jax gets his head on straight. He is severally in need of a reality check and Tara is the one who can give it to him. I,personally hope she kicks his beautiful ass!

CLAY MORROW

I hate CLAY with a passion and this cannot be undone. I have no more words about him except that I hope he gets what is coming to him and then some!

GEMMA TELLER MORROW

Most of the time I just want to smack the piss out of her, she is a controlling mother/mother in law and she needs to know her place. She wants thing to be her way or the highway and does not care how she gets it. She is just as guilty in the death of JT as Clay. I hope Jax finds out and gets her out of his life once and for all. I would love for Tara to be able to knock her down a page or two.

THE BOYS AT THE MC

Tig has really grown on me and he makes me laugh, when he was drooling at that drag queen I was laughing my ass off.

I miss Opie too, just as much as Jax and Lyla.

Chucky-LMAO!

Chibs is a class act, I love him.

Juice was going to be the death of me I swear. I hope he mans up and quits being a whiny bitchy wimp. He took that beating like a man so there is hope.

Bobby, I sure hope he does not go Nomad or make his own version of SAMCRO but I think that might be what he is planning.

Where-ever this show takes me, I am in for the long haul, for however long it is on. If there is anyone who is not yet watching Sons Of Anarchy, you might want to ask yourself why. It might be a little rough and violent but it has heart, courage and it sends some very powerful messages in my opinion!

If you want to watch, get on that marathon, it only took me a week a little over a week to get through 5 seasons! Just saying!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Sons Of Anarchy, Television and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sons Of Anarchy-Faith In Quality TV

  1. luvvamps says:

    Sounds like it could be good. I guess I’ll have to check it out.
    Being off work for 4 weeks with knee surgery isn’t all bad!

    Like

    • nymerias says:

      No and it gives you something else to do besides read! I recommend reading the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon . How did the surgery go? Hope all is well!

      Like

      • luvvamps says:

        I have been a reading fool these last few days. My daughter recommended the Outlander series too. I’ll have to check it out. I did watch the third season of The Walking Dead, now I’m all ready for season 4. I’m having trouble finding season one of SOA. Can’t start it without the first season.
        My surgery went very well, now all I have to do is heal. Thanks for asking.

        Like

      • nymerias says:

        You are welcome! Glad all is well! Netflix has the first 4 seasons so start there.

        Like

  2. DarkPhoenyx says:

    Sons of Anarchy has everything True Blood lacks: good storylines, character progression, continuity besides great acting, and no inadequate leads using their off screen relationship to manipulate the outcome of the show…. the only thing SOA lacks is Alexander Skarsgård….:LOL….but everybody knows he’s the one that outshines everybody else in TB

    Like

Leave a Reply

