My Great Big Fat ‘Sire’ Rant


I normally rant or rave about True Blood (mostly a rabid rant) but The Vampire Diaries is very deserving of one of my epic rants this week. I hope you are ready for this one. I have said before that The Vampire Diaries have been pretty good about continutity and merging the side stories in with the main one and for the most part, that still remains true; with the exception of this sire bond shit that seems to have come up all of a sudden! I thought to myself surely the Salvatore’s (beside Damon) have turned other people before and this sire thing never seemed to be an issue where feelings and doing what you are told. Damon turned Vicki and she was not in love with him and never acted like it. I don’t recall her really listenting to Damon either for that matter but then again maybe he did not tell her to do too many things. I digress and really who cares? The point I am trying to make here is that all of a sudden it is like being ‘sired’ to a vampire is what makes you have feelings for a person. Enough already with the excuses of why Elena loves Damon, the fact of the matter is that she does and it is real. This is like True Blood all over again, with that stupid ass blood bond, I am so over it.

I really just want to smack Caroline’s judgmental ass, either that or take her daylight ring off and feed her to the sun so she can burn to a crisp! She just could not wait to blurt out the ‘sire’ news to Elena just because she disapproves of the way Elena is acting. “You’re not falling in love with him Elena, you’re sired to him!” Caroline acts as if she never does anything wrong and is a saint and I am so tired of hearing her bash Damon and praise Stefan every time she turns around. In case, she has not forgotten, he is no SAINT. <>”Say what you want about Ripper Stefan but at least he wasn’t a man slut.” I think everyone has forgotten that Damon did not want to complete the transformation to vampire because he thought Katherine was dead. Stefan forced it on him and was the ‘ripper’ for a long time while Damon fed normally. He was the one who orignally loathed being a vampire while Stefan marvelled in it, sure he fed but not like Stefan did in the early days. Don’t get me started on the wench who told Damon that he would only send Stefan back to being the ‘ripper’ if he were to go to war with him. Why does Damon get the blame for Stefan’s actions all the time? It really makes no sense to me at all. I am so over Stefan and his ‘woe is me’ plight. If you ask me, it should be ‘Poor Damon’ not ‘Poor Stefan’ because he is the one who has lost the most.

Now back to this ‘sire’ shit which makes more sense when it comes to Klaus’s hybrids because that seems like a wolf thing to me but it just seemed to come out of nowhere and smack us in the face when it comes to explaining why Elena has feelings for Damon. We were told twice in the last episode that it does not effect feelings and yet Stefan and Caroline cannot shut up about it. I am quite sure that Stefan has turned quite a few peeps and none of them ever loved him. It just seems like a very convenient excuse and I am really tired of hearing the ‘sire bond’ or the ‘blood’ made me fall in love. I am sorry but the writing should not get off that easy. Tyler flat out said, “the bond affects how you act, not how you feel” yet it is still an issue for some (Caroline Stefan) and if that was not enough, the witch in New Orleans let it be known as well. The witch stated that a vampire can only bond to their sire when she has feelings for him before she was turned and those feelings were human feelings and being a vampire only heightens the emotions. Stefan still wants it to be her own chose. Caroline simply thinks that “She’s become Damon’s lapdog!” . Sounds like someone is jealous..lol!

So now in order for Elena to truly be free, Damon must set her free by telling her she must live her life without him. If it is meant to be, blah blah blah blah! I feel so sorry for Damon, he had to share Katherine with his brother and now Elena too? I am torn between him breaking the sire bond in this manner because while he does need to know if she truly loves him, it will break his heart all over again if she were return to Stefan. How much more can that vampire take? What makes no sense to me (as of yet) is that we and the characters have been told twice now that the sire bond did not create the feelings because they were already there, it only heightened them, so why make a big damn deal out of it? I will tell you why, it is to make this roller coaster of a triangle last longer than it should. I am starting to feel (just like True Blood) that I want off the bloody ride. With that being said, I am looking forward to tonight’s mid-season finale to hear what bullshit comes out of the story (and out of Carolines mouth) tonight?

Any thoughts on the ‘sire bond’? Share them below!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these2 two (now three) blogs that is what I am doing. I love Game of Thrones, Supernatural,Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods, Outlander, Once Upon A Time, The Walking Dead, Fear The Walking Dead and many other shows. I am also a major hockey fan, especially my Detroit Red Wings! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in The Vampire Diaries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Great Big Fat ‘Sire’ Rant

  1. romanzimojic says:

    Reblogged this on Upstatetraildude's Blog and commented:
    A very good rant! And I love the smack down Caroline gets here!

    Like

  2. joanne kerns says:

    well why don’t you tell us how you really feel…lol, i think because there were feeling buried deep in elena for damon this has happened,the fact that they truly…..love each other ,maybe i dont know,i do know last nite that show rocked….smart move keeping klause alive on their part,where TB should have kept godric…and wasn’t his and erics relation ship kind of a sire thing,now waiting for you to rip my head off….lol

    Like

    • nymerias says:

      I would not rip your head off Joanne! Yes she had feelings for Damon before she was turned, what I don’t like is that that the sire bond is being blamed for the feelings she has for Damon and it has been duly noted that this is the not the reason for it.

      Last night’s episode was good but I wanted to smack Caroline for letting Stefan know about Elena and Damon having slept together. It was not her place and she needs to be brought down a peg or two. She is being way too judgmental.

      Don’t even get me started on Stefan saying “how many more ways can you break my heart?” Oh shut up Stefan, like you have not broken her heart with your ripper ways?

      I guess you could say it was a sire bond between Eric and Godric as in he had to do what Godric told him to but it did not effect any feelings he had for him. He truly loved Godric as a father.

      Like

      • joanne kerns says:

        caroline is caroline ,shes been that way from the start, the catty girlfriend,stephans moods get on my nerves too, but i think they are using the term sire instead of maker,and as damon has always loved elena, maybe it was in his blood,or the catherine connection…idk…lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

