Today is World Outlander Day


image

Today marks the day that the Outlander series was brought to us by Diana Gabaldon with the publication of the first book simply titled ‘Outlander’.

image

I honestly cannot put into words just how much I love this series. I have talked endlessly with my friends (who introduced me to these books THANK YOU)and it all comes down to one thing. It is a love story that truly stands the test of time and quite literally, I might add.

Only in a book, can you walk through a set of standing stones and find the one person you were meant to be with.

I instantly fell in love with the main characters in this story and have endured everything they have through. I know I am in for more as I am only on ‘The Fiery Cross’.

I am new to this series and have been having a mad reading marathon. I am trying anyhow, so many books and only one little ole me.

image

I would like to thank Ms. Diana Gabaldon for bringing readers this amazing, unforgettable series as they not only brought so much joy, they brought people together through their love of the series.

Thanks to a fans love of the series, we get to see your story, Jamie and Claire’s story, come to life in early August. Thank you!

image

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these two blogs that is what I am doing. I love Boardwalk Empire, Game of Thrones, Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods and many other shows. I am very much looking forward to the Outlander series that will soon be on Starz! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Authors, Diana Gabaldon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Today is World Outlander Day

  1. nicolebailey says:

    I wonder if Nymerias read the whole book and/or entire series. I read that book so long ago and so much has happened since then. I agree with the context comment. I was bothered by it, but moved along and have long since forgotten about it. I think the part where Jamie is abused is far worse, if we’re talking about violence, (and I wan’t happy to see it referred to in MOBY, which I’m not finished with.)

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I am on TFC, sorry had to switch from All Souls mode to Outlander mode. At first I wondered why we were talking Outlander in a All Souls post.

      So switching gears, as I said I am on TFC but waiting for someone to catch up so we can read and discuss together . I moved on pretty quickly from it myself, especially considering all the things that occur later in Outlander alone. I cringe every time I think about that scene.

      Like

  2. meridiean says:

    Is that the one where the “hero” actually tries to talk the “heroine” into letting him beat her with a strap, and the somewhat retarded “heroine” foolishly AGREES to the abuse?

    Lol, that’s the exact opposite of a good “romantic” story to me, but I do wonder if they’ll show on film all the different forms of abuse – not just domestic violence – touted in the story?

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      I think people need to get past that, I really do. Why people focus on that is beyond me. The books that are written now a days have way worse things done to them than that. With all the dom/submissive crap out there, this scene was a walk in the park in comparison. You should really read the scene to get it in the right context. That is if you have not already.

      Like

      • meridiean says:

        I know a lot of people have no problem ignoring when abuse happens in fiction, logically figuring that “well, it’s fiction so it doesn’t matter”, but I worry about young people, especially young women, growing up reading that kind of abuse (when they’re way too young to be reading that kind of thing in the first place, but hey, when did that stop us, lol??) and thinking that domestic violence of any sort is ok or that it should be forgiven because of some man’s pride or pretty face, what have you.

        I wouldn’t want my daughter treated like that, and I wouldn’t want me treated like that, so why would I choose to support that kind of thing happening in a book?

        Like

      • Nymerias says:

        I am not making excuses for it at all, the scene turned me off at first. I could not ignore it and did nit. I had to stop reading for a bit. Young woman should not be reading this series. Again, I am not making excuses for him, but the time was different, back in those days a woman who talked back was considering a no no. He could not let his men think he could not control his wife but she let it be known that he would never touch her in that manner again and he never did. It was my only time of having anything but love for Jamie

        I guess for me in the world we live in today, that was mild compared to what men want to do to women and what women let and like them to do.

        Like

      • meridiean says:

        I hear what you’re saying, but…sadly…I’m not NEARLY as tolerant toward that kind of thing. I just…can’t be. And it truly irks me when a writer voluntarily chooses to include that sort of domestic violence in a story via the “it was the times” excuse. Is she not in control of what her own fingers typed? She could have written anything in the world that she wanted, but she chose to go the abuse route on purpose.

        And the “heroine” – it kills me that the write had her LET HIM hurt her on purpose, and she STAYED.

        To me – and, admittedly, ONLY to me – I see no excuse for excusing that sort of abuse. It doesn’t matter to me what kind of deal they may have made – the fact remains that he knowingly and willingly hurt the woman he supposedly “loved” – and it was willingly or he would not have done so. He chose his pride over his woman’s love, and was glad to do it – or he would not have done so, period.

        I wish I could bring myself to excuse such abusive behavior for any of the several well-crafted excuses I’ve seen, but…I just can’t. Abuse is abuse, no matter the excuse.

        Lol, we’ll just have to agree to disagree.

        Like

      • Nymerias says:

        Yes ma’am that is all we can do. I just saw it differently and especially in light of the bad abuse I have seen. I can see others disagreeing with you also and I am glad you are a person who can handle a good debate.

        Like

      • meridiean says:

        Heh, I love a good debate! :D We all hold different ideas of how much abuse is tolerable, and we all hold different ideas of what constitutes a healthy relationship, and I can only espouse my own beliefs (which are, obviously, lol, that no abuse is excusable not matter what all else may be going on in other abuse-glorifying stories).
        :D

        Like

      • meridiean says:

        Oh, and in the interest of full disclosure, I should state that I’ve not fallen for that Dom/sub crap, either – can’t stomach any sort of abusive relationship, no matter what the writer’s excuse for writing it might be.

        And, just because a series is set during an historical era doesn’t mean the writer is forced to include abusive behavior in her work – unless she wants to use that historical era as a way of excusing the abuse she chose to write. The fact that she did so gratuitously include abuse in this series tells me that she wanted to, and I will never ignore or support abusive behavior.

        Like

      • Nymerias says:

        I understand and as I said not making excuses for that act. However, I don’t think she used the era as an excuse to write that part, I think she was trying to be authentic to the time and age the female found herself in. In her future, those things did not happen, as they were not accepted. It was a means to show that she was not

        Like

      • Nymerias says:

        Opposs hit reply to soon, I think it was used to show the differences between the times. She was definitely not in her Kansas anymore so to speak

        Like

      • Nymerias says:

        It was really more of a spanking not a beating, there is a difference, to me at least.

        Like

      • meridiean says:

        To me, since it was meant to not only hurt the woman but to punish her, too, there truly is no difference to me. It was meant to put the woman down, to subjugate her, to cause her pain and to show the he-man’s mastery and ownership of her.

        It was in no way something a man who supposedly loves his woman would ever do, yet he did it willingly – to the point of talking her into letting him hurt her.
        :(

        Like

      • Nymerias says:

        I am picking up what your putting down. It was something she made clear would never happen again, no matter the reason. She really never was his subjugate but yeah agree to disagree! :)

        Like

      • meridiean says:

        And ya know what irks me?? I’ve just now comfy in my crusade-against-abuse hat (it’s really pretty) and NOW I’ve got to be all mundane and fix…supper. Darn my empty tummy!! BOOO!!!

        I will say this as far as fanfics are concerned, though: there have been some AMAZING fics that I had to stop reading because of the excused-abuse component.

        DO YOU KNOW HOW HARD IT IS TO HAVE TO STOP READING A STORY THAT YOU LOVE BECAUSE THE WRITER CHOSE TO MAKE IT ABUSIVE AND THE HEROINE OF THE STORY DIDN’T KICK THE MO’FO’S ASS???

        *sad sigh*

        Being an intolerant Taurus is no fun. Too bad I’m so good at it. ;)

        Like

      • Nymerias says:

        Lol stubborn arse! I need to cook dinner myself

        Like

      • meridiean says:

        **tosses over a couple of baked chicken dinners with buttered asparagus, herbed new potatoes, and fresh rolls**

        Like

      • Nymerias says:

        chicken here too thanks yours sounds more yummy

        Like

      • meridiean says:

        Lol, it’s the fresh rolls – they make anything sound better

        Like

    • Momo B says:

      In Outlander Jamie spanks Claire’s ass (it’s just that) when she put the clan in danger and almost get them killed. It’s 18th Scotland, other times and other traditions and there were standards Jamie had to follow to preserve the life of his Clan. It’s not a beating scene, the author corrected it countless times. Just a spanking in the ass (of course nothing acceptable in our society but it was back then) but as I said other times, other traditions. Jamie didn’t know why Claire ran away, she was trying to go back to her husband in the future and when he learns this info he apologized and feels ashamed for it did and promised to never touch her again (which it never did in fact and they’re almost 60 years old in the last books) The series is much more than that, and not a romance so it can be very crude. While reading it one has to always keep in mind we’re talking 1743. This doesn’t mean accept it and move on but just understand the contest, even the historical one, and consider that it was a time when actions had consequences, even unpleasant ones unfortunately. It doesn’t mark Jamie as a dom or other stuff like that. The author is a random woman who happens to writer about Scotland, she knows exactly what she’s talking about and researched materials even with the helps of historical experts (besides she was a biologist so very methodical in her writing).

      Like

Leave a Reply

