Forgive me, Darynda Jones……


….for I have sinned! Okay, it is not a sin of a biblical nature but it could be considered a crime in the eyes of a bookie! I just now read your Charley Davidson series. I really don’t know what I was waiting for.

For the past week and a half, I have been hanging out with Nymerias, (my Iphone that houses my Kindle App), not my blog name, until all hours of the night. I absolutely could not bring myself to stop reading. I have bags under my eyes but you would not want to see that, I am sure I look horrible. Trust me when I say the bags are totally worth it.

Where do I begin in the telling of all that I loved about this series. I have so much to choose from so I guess I will start with Charley. She could easily be my sister/best friend.

I love her and her great sense of humor, the things that come out of her mouth will have you laughing at her audacity. This is due to the fact that her humor comes out at some rather inappropriate times. Example: when someone is looking to kill her!

She has this tendency to come up with some harebrained ideas that never turn out the way they did in her head.This is funny at times,due to her humor and you shake your head wondering what you are going to do with her. I am not sure if you can call it a fault or just that she cares so much about people in general that she does not put her life above those of others. Which bothers the man/supernatural entity who loves her to no end……speaking of……

He may be the son of all evil but Reyes will have every part of you enthralled with him,body, mind and soul. He gets in deep under your skin and you cannot dislodge him. From his words to his actions and the way he moves (corporeal and incorporeal), you wonder where the hell he has been all your life. You want him for your very own for the rest of your life but I know he won’t even look my way because he only has eyes for Charley! Damn, Damn Damn! I cannot begrudge him that though for he has been through hell (quite literally) and back and has watched over her throughout her life! She brings the light in his otherwise dark world and it is all he thinks about.

I would have one comment for Mr.Reyes Alexander Farrow if he told me to 1.’Use the Key’ 2. ‘Come Sleep With Me’ and 3. ‘Marry Me’ (that man can leave me post it notes any day of the week and twice on Sunday!)

‘Yes Yes and Yes! A thousand times over, Yes! To say that I am unequivocally and irrevocably in love with Reyes Alexander Farrow would be putting it mildly! He had me at ‘Dutch’ He would not have to tell or ask me anything twice!

I finally finished the 6th book in this series and WOW! I almost did not see that coming. She is one of the authors that gives the readers bits of information at a time and then hits you with something big that leaves you with more questions. This might be a little in the land of spoilers so if you have not read it yet, I am sorry but I will keep it to a minimum!

As I said, you are left with questions in your mind. Mine are, what is her real name (her being Charley)? What are the 12 (on both sides) exactly and what is their role? Is there more to it than what Reyes and the ‘Dealer'(that sneaky Trickster) have said? I automatically think of the Trickster from Supernatural when I hear that nickname! Except the ‘Dealer’ here is not a fallen angel and I all I say about him is I am not sure I really trust him, especially considering the ending of 6th Grave on the Edge!

What about this 13th Beast (I won’t give this away) who can tip the scales either way in regards to the 12? What is Charley’s dad really up to because he evidently is not sailing up the coast like he said?! I love Cookie and Ubie and about damn time he got his head out of his arse and asked her out! Cookie is really a great friend to her and Charley would be just as lost without her as she would be without Reyes!

I believe we are in for a bumpy ride thanks to Ms.Jones, an enjoyable one but very bumpy. I love a good mystery entangled with my paranormal romance! Don’t you? If you have not read this series or the 6th installment, I hope my comments and thoughts have made you want to get them ASAP! You see,I had some Saucy Wenches and some Rabids (you all know who you are) raving about this series (and Reyes in particular since we were discussing the Alpha Showdown and his presence in said showdown) so I am just paying it forward.

Thoughts, as usual sound off below!

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these two blogs that is what I am doing. I love Boardwalk Empire, Game of Thrones, Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods and many other shows. I am very much looking forward to the Outlander series that will soon be on Starz! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Authors, Books, Darynda Jones, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Forgive me, Darynda Jones……

  1. northwoman says:

    I love this series but have yet to read the 6th book (on my night stand) I’m in a reading frenzy.

    Did you know there is a short story in this series called “For I Have Sinned?” LOL

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    I am so glad that you are now a Charley fan! I thought I told you about her months ago, however does not matter now that I know you adore her like I do. I hope more of your readers will try Darynda Jones’s Charley Davidson Series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

