Let’s Talk About ‘Wild Things’


I have been MIA for a bit due to things going on beyond my control and I am behind on my book reviews. I vowed in the New Year that I would not let things get in the way of my reading and blogging pleasure. I should never have made that vow as we all know that life gets in the way of…well life to be honest. Enough about that, on with the review!

WT

I could not wait to get my hands on this book because I am addicted to all things in the land of the CLV, especially Ethan and Merit. This book did not disappoint in any way shape or form. There were a lot of things going on but it was a focused chaos that drew me, as the reader in. I felt the Vampire and Human politics were amped up and lead us on an awesome journey throughout the next books. You throw in some shifter shiftiness, black witchy magic to get species of all kinds to wage wars on one another and you got yourself a page turner and all nighter.

A master vampire of Ethan’s caliber should never have to turn tail and run but a master vampire also does what is good for his house and this leads Methan down a path of helping other supernaturals, despite their own very real problems.

Some might have seen this as a ‘filler’in the series but I did not see it that way. Underneath all the shifter/witchy mess was the mess that Ethan is caught up in with the Mayor and the shifter problems actually helps with part of Ethan’problems,with the Mayor at least. I am sure that the politicians won’t let up on Ethan and the other houses any time soon but at least this is over….for now! The Greenwhich Presidium, on the other hand is another matter.

I loved Ethan and Merit in this book because they seemed more in tune with each other and Merit at the end, is a little less concerned that she would loose Ethan to the GP. Now, this whole baby thing/vision that Gabe had for Merit was finally revealed to Ethan and us at the same time. I recalled the prophecy Gabe had once given her and was craving more details, although Gabe was still pretty cryptic about it, which was so frustrating.

Speaking of Gabe, as well as other supernaturals, I think they could be a bit more nice to Methan and the rest of Cadogan house. Sure they are allies of a sort but I think has proven enough times that he is willing to help without threats of any kind. The same could be said for the politicians of Chicago because they know the vampires of Chicago, especially those from Ethan’s house have saved the city countless times. It is time they were shown some respect.

As one of my final notes, I loved how Ethan, while shocked that a baby could be conceived by them, was happy at the thought. That fact alone would have had me saying yes to his proposals of marriage, in a heartbeat! Even though he is going to run to be the head of the GP, Merit does not have to worry about loosing Ethan to him living across the pond because he said he could run the GP anywhere. I am so ready to see this plays out!

Funniest line in the book, even though it got this ILLINOISAN’s dire up, belongs to Jeff Christopher.

“Illi-noise” Jeff said with cheeky enthusiasm. “Because the wolves will howl”

If I did not love Jeff Christopher so much, I would have to give him a major kick in the arse! Where I come from (Illinois), saying 'Illi-noise' is a big NO NO because well those are just fighting words. It has to be noted that since Jeff is from Illinois, he can get away with it (and so can the author) more than say an outsider would anyway. It was a joke after all and I can take a joke.

An Illinoisan will actually school a person on the proper way to say it should they get it wrong for the S is silent! I laughed at this particular cheek from Jeff but inside I was still screaming ‘It’s Illinois, NOT Illi-noise’!

I am really looking forward to see what happens in ‘BLOOD GAMES’ coming out in August.

About Nymerias

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these two blogs that is what I am doing. I love Boardwalk Empire, Game of Thrones, Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods and many other shows. I am very much looking forward to the Outlander series that will soon be on Starz! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Authors, Books, Chloe Neill, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let’s Talk About ‘Wild Things’

  1. luvvamps says:

    Yup This is going to be the next series I read. Thanks for the review.

    Like

Leave a Reply

