Books That Are Well Worth Another Reading


A couple of weeks ago I found myself in a discussion with a friend from Saucy Wenches about books we read as Young Adults. I would say quite a number of really great books were mentioned by people we know and an idea started brewing in my mind for a post. How many books do we have in our possession that we absolutely love so much, we just have to read them over and over again and what are they?

OscarWilde

For most avid book readers, the main reason for reading a book or book series again is quite simple, we loved it for everything that it had to offer. If the book is well written, it can take you out of the space you are in and into the world of the author. We just want to experience that world and live in it over and over again. Reading takes you places and in ways you may not even be able to imagine!

We all like to read a book again because it made you feel something special and as if you were visiting old friends. I find that I have missed the characters and I want to reconnect with them. I have experienced everything with them and went along on their journey and I want to do so again and again. It really is one of the best vacations ever! Well developed characters and a complex story will have that effect on a reader. It helps to be able to identify with the characters in a book.

As readers, we always pick up on something we did not catch the first (or second or third) time around, or details we forgot. It could also be that we see the situation in a brand new light and have different thoughts about it.

I thought I would name a few books/book series that are definitely ones that are still read over and over again. There are some I have in my library that I revisit and some that I still have yet to read (for the first time) that have been mentioned by others. Here we go!

PRIDE AND PREJUDICE (lovingly known as P&P)

This classic speaks for itself! Other classics such as Jane Erye, Wuthering Heights, etc!

pride_and_prejudice_book_cover_by_fourblackbirds-d533108

MASTER OF THE GAME

Sidney-Sheldon-pic

I have read this book at least 20 times and will never get tired of it. In this book, I journeyed from the Scotland Highlands with young Jamie McGregor to Klipdrift, South Africa in his (and everyone else’s) dream to find diamonds. I survived crawling on a diamond beach on the Namib Desert with Jamie and Bandit and got my revenge along with them. I spent time with three generations of his family and had a love hate relationship with the head of the family throughout the years. I will never tire of reading this book. If you have not read this book, you need to, trust me!

NIGHT HUNTRESS SERIES

Collage Color

Remember my TBR list, well this series is included and my SAUCY WENCH friends tells me that it is a series that they could read over and over again. I just started this series myself but I can already see WHY it is one to indulge in several times. The final book in this series just came out a few days ago and I won’t have to wait in agony for the next book to come out. BRIGHT SPOT! SILVER LINING!

CHICAGOLAND VAMPIRE SERIES (CLV)

CLV Black & White

Mere words cannot express how much I love this series and cannot get enough of it! It is just one big jar of awesomesauce and who would NOT want to be Merit! There is always something going on with the members of Cadogan House and I love to join them in whatever battles they have to face!

HARRY POTTER

harry-potter-series

This is a book series that I read when I want to escape into a world that is full of magical surprise and wonder. You know the things that don’t really exist but wouldn’t it be cool if it did? Imagine waking up and finding out that you are not who or what you thought you were and that you could make things magically happen. You find out that there is a secret platform called 9 and 3/4 and you are about to attend a magic school? Sign me up, Hogwarts here I come. This series always makes me remember what I love about about books, that your imagination can take you anywhere!

OUTLANDER

outlander

I am new to this series and I am only on ‘The Fiery Cross’ but they have to be one of the most beautiful and complex series I have ever read. Richly full of historic details that put you in the middle of the action of this otherwise classic love story that in my opinion stands the time of time, literally and figuratively. Jamie, Claire and everything about them just steals your heart and you cannot let go.

V.C. ANDREWS

I started reading books by this author when I was a teenager and instantly became hooked on the stories, even if they were a little out there. This author always wrote in a series about one family and their history and it would most generally shock you but you could not put it down. Now, there are four book series plus a stand alone that I absolutely love the wickedness of in that how could one family be so cruel that I just had to know more?

I admit that it also ticked me off and was appalled at that cruelty. After she passed away, you could tell that they ran out of her original material and the books were never the same again for you could tell the tone changed. With that being said, I still pick up a book written in her name from time to time but it is just not the same.

1.The Dollanganger Series

Simply WICKED WICKED WICKED!

Andrews

2. My Sweet Audrina (stand alone)

Adare

A real page turner, just when you think you know what is going on, trust me you don’t!

3.The Casteel Series

Casteel

4. The Landry Series (my favorite)

LANDRY

5. The Cutler Series

Cutler

LORD OF THE RINGS

LOTR

Who would not want to go on a adventure with Frodo, Sam, Merry, Pippin, Aragorn, Legolas, Gandalf and Bilbo over and over again? Enough said!

THE CALDER SERIES

calder

I have read this series so many times that I need new copies ASAP! It is all about one family stemming from one man’s dream of building a life on a cattle ranch in Montana on his own and going through several generations of Calders and the ever changing times and holding on to what was built years ago. I read it and fall in love all over again.

THE KEY TRILOGY

key

These are not the covers I have and I want them but I digress! Magic, intrigue, mystery, adventure and passion! Who could ask for more? Each key novel puts the reader in the moment with the characters and the things that have to find within themselves to overcome a battle of wit and seeing the character find a strength within themselves is amazing.

A SONG OF FIRE AND ICE

GOT

I am still making my way through ‘A Feast for Crows’ but this is a series of complex books that will need another read through just to grasp everything that goes on and worth it the second, third or fourth go around. This is one series I can take MY time with as GRRM takes HIS time in writing them so I can afford to set them aside for now!

THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA

narnia1

It is the same as Harry Potter for me, except it really is a make believe world for these characters. I love everything about Narnia and adore going back there from time to time. I just want to spend time with the characters.

ALL SOULS TRILOGY

all souls

The final book in this trilogy will be released in July but I already know I want to spend more time with Matthew and Diana. I want to join them in their quest to find Ashmole 782 while I am still wondering where in the world is Ashmole 782. Is it still in the depths of the Bodleian Library?

Like Outlander, this book is full of historic details and you have to pay attention to everything that is going on. I am sure in the next read through(s),I will gain more knowledge, something that I missed before leaving me with a ‘Ah, that is why that happened’ feeling!

THE OUTSIDERS

outsiders21

When I stepped out into the bright sunlight, from the darkness of the movie house, I had only two things on my mind, Paul Newman and a ride home.

The above is the first and last line of the classic novel by S.E. Hinton and it gets me every time. This book taught me a lot about human nature and how we all really are no different from one another at the end of the day, even though it has been and will always be this way. You just have to remember that ‘things are tough all over’ they really are!
I loved how Johnny interpreted Robert Frost’s poem ‘Nothing Gold Can Stay’ and it was spot on. That particular poem has always been one of my favorites! Stay Gold!

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf,
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day
Nothing gold can stay.

Robert Frost

I could keep on adding books or a book series that I keep in my collection or that others keep but we would be here all day and we have books to read from our TBR list that is already a mile long! Remember that just because an author is no longer writing about our favorite characters in our favorite series does not mean that we cannot go back and visit them again and again and again! They never truly leave us as they are only a few feet away in either our bookcase or electronic library, or both as the case may be! They live on in our hearts and bookshelves!

If I did not mention a favorite of yours, dinna fash as there is always another blog post or you could tell me of a book or book series that you have to read again. Sound off below!

About Nymerias S

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these two blogs that is what I am doing. I love Boardwalk Empire, Game of Thrones, Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods and many other shows. I am very much looking forward to the Outlander series that will soon be on Starz! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Authors, Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books That Are Well Worth Another Reading

  1. I loved your post. You had a couple of my favourites here. Of course ASOIaF, I’ve read many times and Pride and Prejudice too many times to count. I had completely forgotten about The Hobbit and LoTR. Thanks for the reminder. It’s a while since I’ve visited Hobbiton. I too am reading through The Outlander series and enjoying it. Once book I read a lot as a child / teenager was Little Women and Anne of Green Gables. Both books were guaranteed to make me cry.

    Like

    • Nymerias says:

      Your welcome! I love books that can make me laugh, cry, and piss me off! LOL. I am all over place in my reading but Outlander has really grabbed hold!

      Like

Leave a Reply

