How I Pick A Good Book 101


My to be read list just keeps getting bigger and bigger and there is nothing I can do to stop it. I am a very particular reader as I am very picky and selective about what I read. Therefore, it takes me a long time to pick out books to read.

THE COVER

This is very important when one is perusing the local bookstore (or Kindle I might add) because if the cover does nothing for me, then I won’t even pick up the book to read the synopsis/blurb. This won’t matter if I am already familiar with the author and trust that he/she will deliver (more on that later). The cover has to be eye-catching enough to get me to halt in the aisle of said bookstore.

Does the cover fit the genre of the book? Is there a picture of a kick-ass hero or heroine appearing to be in the midst of a battle (depends on the genre)? Is there a picture of a lovelorn female in the arms of a Hottie McHot(romance novel)? It could be something as simple as a really cool symbol, or the color, is it glistening? Some may not think this matters but Book Eye Candy matters, no matter the form, especially if trying to attract a new reader. If the food does not look appetizing, would you want to eat it? The chances are very very slim. Here are few of my favorite book covers.

Cover

Credit to my friends Olga and the Saucy Wenches

Credit to my friends Olga and the Saucy Wenches

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Harry Potter Covers

key

Well, you get the idea I am sure!

THE SYNOPSIS/BLURB

Gelb97-book

If the cover appeals to me, then I will open the book and read the synopsis on the inside jacket or back of the book as the case may be. I am usually not disappointed when I take the book home with me to read. If I find that the synopsis and the cover do not match up to what I read or saw, then the chances of my picking up anything else by that author is slim. Then again, that book could (if not in a series) just might not have been the authors best so the same rules apply; beautiful or interesting cover and great synopsis then I am taking it home with me, to give the author another try.

WORD OF MOUTH

book-club

Book Clubs or a group of friends is another great way I pick up a set of good books. This is my preferred method because it helps me not to stick to my general favorite genre, which are legal/crime thrillers or magical/fantasy in nature. I guess you can say I will read just about anything as long as the story is good and if it is a book series, the author stays true to their original storyline arc. If I get thrown a major curveball and the author has no way out, then I am out. If a member of a book club or a friend recommends a book to me, I will still look at the cover and read the synopsis for the eye catching cover and if the plot interests me. I will read it no matter what because it was recommended. I adore GoodReads and book blog sites such as The Saucy Wenches friends of mine who have led me to some great books!

Now, as I said earlier if I read a book from an author I am already established with, the cover does not have to please my eye as much because the authors name stands out and I will automatically reach for it. I will read the synopsis because I want to see what that author has in store for me now. I can usually trust that the author is going to take me on a great ride or adventure so they already have my vote of confidence. They have earned my trust and my money and I would have no problem singing their praises to anyone who would listen. I have only been burned once by an author and I hope that is something that will NEVER be repeated.

What is your process of picking out a book series? Similar to mine or do you have your own method? Sound off below!

About Nymerias S

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these two blogs that is what I am doing. I love Boardwalk Empire, Game of Thrones, Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods and many other shows. I am very much looking forward to the Outlander series that will soon be on Starz! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How I Pick A Good Book 101

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    Its hard not to judge a book by its cover, right?

    Like

    • nymerias says:

      Exactly! It should not be done but alas it is. Which is why the powers that be make it enticing. I have been trying to not judge by the cover alone but a nice cover still catches my eye.

      Like

Leave a Reply

