The Great Debaters of the SSN.


Well, my fellow bookies in just a little over four months we will have the final Sookie Stackhouse novel in our hot little hands. I am sure it will be a sad moment for all and we may want to prolong the reading of Dead Ever After to make the magic last longer. Oh, who the hell am I kidding? We are going to devour that book in one night, if not in a few hours. At least, I know I am.

DEA

There has been speculation after speculation regarding the final book of this much beloved series, maybe more than the other books that have been released thus far. Dead Ever After, the penultimate novel in the Sookieverse was speculated about even before it had been given a title. I believe discussion started on this final book after Deadlocked was released and read by all the fans of this series. I know my friends and I have discussed it endlessly and it is a good thing that we are all on the same page.

There are some, however; who are not on the same page at all and everything about this final book has been picked apart before it even had a cover, not to mention the ones that came before it. I am all for speculation and it being expressed but some of the theories I have read are just so far out there, I cannot even stomach reading them. Disclaimer: I, for the most part, stay in my own little corner of the (Sookieverse) world but every now and then I like to read what others are saying about my favorite book series. I must tell you that when I do step away, I am astonished by some of the discussions and speculations. I often wonder if people have been reading the same series I have been delighted to read. Other than that, people might as well play, rock, paper, scissors, lizard, Spock as to the outcome of the final Sookie Stackhouse novel. Just a little Sheldon humor there.

cooper

Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, thoughts, speculations and theories but I really can’t help but wonder if some of the discussions are taking place with what is ‘in the text’ of these novels. The only conclusion that I can come to is that the answer is no. I am sure I have not been to every place on the NET that discusses the SSN but if the author’s own website’s community board is any indication that it is the same all over the net then I am well and truly glad I stay in my own little corner of the world. I have been venturing over there the past couple of weeks and I read a lot of what I like to call ‘grasping at straws’ posts about things that are no longer relevant or about things that have been made very clear.

As I am sure most of you know, a lot of the talk is centered on Sookie’s HEA (happily ever after for those who might not know lol) and who will be her suitor. In my opinion and many others, this is a no-brainer and has been for several books. I believe it has been Eric for quite some time because I listen to Sookie and her inner dialogue. The following question(s) were posted at CH’s site recently: “How does Eric fit into Sookie’s life?” and “Can anyone HONESTLY say they could see Eric befriending her friends , going to a backyard BBQ and playing football with Jason?” This is where it would help to leave how we would feel out of it and listen to Sookie’s inner dialogue. Of course I answered and I thought it was a simple, straight-forward answer.

My response went a little something like this: “Sookie is not your ordinary girl as I said above who dreams of the things you mentioned, i.e. the backyard BBQ with her husband and family and him tossing a football around with Jason. Sookie has never been a normal person that way so I expect she does not view her HEA as normal either. That is the reason I mentioned the roses and what not. I guess what I am trying to say is that Sookie has what she feels she needs in her life to make her happy. Why does her HEA have to fit what WE would consider good for her? She knows her heart and mind like I said before so to answer your question, Eric fits into Sookie’s life where and as long as she wants him in it and in whatever capacity she wants. It may not be normal but if it is what she wants then I am all for it. It does not matter where I can see Eric fitting into Sookie’s life; it is how Sookie sees it and what she wants.”

There has also been plenty of talk of Eric and how he wants power and moving up in the vampire hierarchy and this is not within the text of the series. It really baffles the mind how these types of conclusions can be made when it has been made clear that it is not so. If Eric wanted power, he could have had it by now but I think Sookie and Eric are both comfortable enough in their own little corner of the world that they do not need more. I think Eric gets a bad rep because he is pragmatic and resourceful and it might seem mean and high-handed but it always work for him and those he loves as well.

Every time I make my over to CH’s site as well as Amazon and read all the talk about Bill and how he could still be the one that Sookie chooses to be with, I want to puke. I wonder if they are reading the same book series and recall the fact that the author is a rape survivor herself. Bill raped Sookie in the trunk of that car and there is no denying that fact, no matter how hard people try to spin it. It does not matter that Sookie forgave him; she still would not ever forget it. There is a reason she does not share things with him and she also finds it creepy that he sits outs in the woods and watches what goes on.

I was new to Ms. Harris’s site so I had no clue about the level of discussions that went over there but I have skimmed the archives and it seems to me that a shift occurred over there. I have been told by friends that this is indeed the case. It does not matter to me who people ship for Sookie and her HEA in the book series, what matters to me is WHEN this shift started. It seems to me that this shift occurred after the start of True Blood. I believe that it is okay to back your favorite for an HEA but at least base it on the content of what is in the text and not about ANYTHING pertaining to True Blood. The two mediums are different entities altogether and should not be lumped as one. For starters, the SSN is 50 times better than True Blood ever could be so there is no comparison. Sookie can feel love for another man, such as Sam or Bill but it is not the kind of love that some people would like it to be. She may have some residual feelings for Bill that seem like it could be something, but it is only residual and nothing more.

Ms. Harris was asked on her Facebook page: “At what point while writing the Sookie Stackhouse stories did you realize Bill Compton was not going to be the main romantic partner for Sookie?” and her reply was “Probably by the second book”. My question is: Why do people insist on beating this dead horse into the ground? Bill and his fans should be glad that Sookie even considers him a friend if you ask me. Ms. Harris also confirmed in the past that Bill may be redeemed but can’t be totally forgiven and won’t be a contender in the romance department. I don’t need any more confirmation than that so I would not make a fool of myself by continuing to bring it up. Shouldn’t they be listening to what the author has said on the subject? They are her characters after all and she knows them quite well.

I don’t get where Sam is the obvious choice for Sookie for she has said many, many times and in different ways that she only views him as a friend. She truly values that friendship and would not want to see that come to an end. In STW, she made it very clear that she only views Sam as a friend. She was not comfortable that his family thought they were an item and did not want to give that impression. If it was about her loving Sam in the same manner that she loves Eric, it would have been shown to us before now and it has not. There has been no set up for Sookie to ‘all of a sudden’ love Sam.

Everyone who knows me will tell you that I am a major Eric/Sookie shipper, books and show but more so for the book series. I will go down with my ship. I wish Bill well but I cannot forget what he did to Sookie, both emotionally and physically to Sookie for she is who I care about. With all that being said though, when all the comparisons are done between Bill and Eric, I find them very lame. I personally love reading about all the secrets, lies and abuse Sookie has been enduring from Eric. I am not denying that Eric has not told lies to her but as he said “I may not tell you everything I know but what I do tell you is the truth”. It is moot because Eric’s lies were not a betrayal. I challenge anyone to name one (legitimate) time when Eric abused Sookie.

I am concerned for Sookie in the final installment of this series because she is obviously going to be in the dark about what is going on with Eric. I understand that a lot of it is for her own safety but she has a right to know. I don’t always agree with Eric but everything he has done has been for the better so I will trust it. I have been thinking about Quinn and what his role will be in all this. I was wondering if he was brought in for a Summit of some sort, for example Eric could be going to try and get Appius’s marriage contract null and void in a sort of trial with the AP, bringing in the fact that he was already married as well.

I also (painstakingly) wondered if Eric’s marriage to Sookie would be disavowed, through some work of Felipe’s so that he could have Sookie being that she is no longer protected by Eric. In this case scenario, it would not matter if the marriage deal with Freyda went through because he could keep Eric in his retinue and have Sookie to boot. I believe Felipe is ruthless enough to do this and make it serve as Eric’s and Sookie’s punishment for killing Victor. It would break her heart if she had to this from Quinn or someone else, like Felipe sending his minions to get her so he could use her gift.

I do know one thing for sure and that is that Sookie loves Eric, all on her own and they both are going to have to fight to stay together. I go back to Sookie’s words in Deadlocked that kind of mirrored Eric’s in Dead to the World and makes me trust her inner thoughts and that she knows her own heart and mind.

Eric: “Sookie, if I turn down this opportunity, Felipe will punish both of us. Our lives will not be worth living.”
Sookie: “Then we’ll leave,” I said quietly. “We’ll go somewhere else. You’ll work for some other King or Queen. I’ll find a job’

This is a very big thing for Sookie to say because she loves Bon Temps and the home she grew up in. If Sookie did not love Eric, this thought would never have occurred to her for even a second. This simple line spoken by her told me all I need to know for I want what Sookie wants and to me her heart says Eric. We shall see in about four months. At the end of the day, everyone is entitled to their own opinions and speculations but it does need to be in respect to what has been previously written. I know I will miss Sookie Stackhouse and all her adventures.

About Nymerias S

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these two blogs that is what I am doing. I love Boardwalk Empire, Game of Thrones, Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods and many other shows. I am very much looking forward to the Outlander series that will soon be on Starz! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Books, Sookie Stackhouse Novels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Great Debaters of the SSN.

  1. lorip100 says:

    I also agree with everything you said , and is why I’m totally gobsmacked with the Path that CH decided to take . I know this is an old post, but it really sums up how I felt about the series and I still don’t know if I really want to read DEA or wait for the codex with hope that she some how realises that she really didn’t put the ground work for in for it to be left as Sam and that DEA as the last instalment in the series was just a ruse . Then again trusting this author with the continuity of her own characters is going to be difficult , cause if Sam was CH’s HEA from the start I think she really lost track of that . Shame ,such a shame !

    Like this

  2. luvvamps says:

    Nymerias….Bravo! You said it in spades! The books are so much more than the show. I do believe a lot of people get them mixed up. It makes me almost wish there wasn’t a show (I watch it for Alex. In my opinion that is the only part of the show that Ball did right.). Alan Ball has so screwed up a wonderful book series. It will be a sad day for me when I finish reading Dead Ever After. Thank you for stating the obvious!

    Like this

  3. NANOU says:

    I’m glad you did this article because I sometimes feel the same as you are reading some comments on the last book!
    I also completely agree in the case of Bill, I do not see CH make a HEA with a person who rape sookie. more sookie indeed never forgive something like a bill, but it is important in his life (especially with the rescue of the fae war) and sam regard many believe she loves him because she used the cluviel gold for sam, but do not forget that sookie was injured jackson has to save a vampire she does not even know (betty joe)
    and like you, I was hallucinating when sookie eric proposes to leave together (it reminded me eric in Book 4!) and indeed for sookie offers something like this is a BIG deal! ! this is the most important moment of the book 12 for me!
    thank you for your article

    Like this

  4. I so agree with ya! Good post. :D

    Like this

  5. Sari Rinne says:

    Thank you Nymeria, you really expressed my feelings! I agree with every point. I’m also a bookie who still keeps watching the tv-show but I try to keep them separate in my brain (and mostly watch the show only to admire Skarsgård). However, the book universe is the “real” one and I follow Sookie’s inner thoughts and comments, and they definitely point to love for Eric. It is simply common that you fall in love with someone and then arrange your life so that there’s a place for him/her, not the other way around that you would choose who to love according to what suits best for your life (of course it happens but Sookie is certainly a person who listens to her heart). So far, I’m not worríed about the other suitors, I think that in the end “Sooric” will be an item. In my opinion, the only other solution could be that if Eric is not available (Freyda etc), she decides to rather stay alone, but obviously that’s not what I’m hoping for.

    Like this

  6. Cindy says:

    I am so happy that I finally found a person that thinks like I do…I totally agree with you…Bill had his chance or chances should I say and he blew them all…Eric has always told Sookie straight up and what he does is for her benefit…I love to read SSN and can’t wait til the last one comes out…thank you for laying it all out.. it is refreshing!!!

    Like this

  7. valady1 says:

    So well articulated. And your point about the shift to Bill happening after True Blood started makes such good sense. I think people are confusing Alan Ball’s take on the SVM and the very romanticized relationship of Bill and Sookie that he presented. What happened in that trunk cannot be erased and you explain why so well. I am both looking forward to and dreading the release of the last book. Because it will be the last book for our beloved characters.
    Valady

    Like this

  8. lostinspace33 says:

    Amen!!!!!!!!!

    Like this

  9. kittyinaz says:

    Reblogged this on Kittyinaz and commented:
    For those who love the Books….

    Like this

  10. Pingback: The Great Debaters of the SSN. | vamplovers

  11. RosieB80 says:

    I completely agree with you! Sookie has even said herself that she’s “over” Bill. I’m worried about Sam though, because I can see where he can be good for her. Like him giving her a life of some ” normalcy”. Since she used the culvel dor on him I wonder how Eric will take it. I’m all for Eric and Sookie ship. I really hope they stay together….

    Like this

  12. LOVE this! Especially the last bit. Really says a lot that Sookie would offer to leave her beloved Gran’s house and Bon Temps for Eric. Says it all!

    Like this

  13. Erika says:

    I agree with everything you said, Nymerias! I don’t get where they get those ideas from either…but it’s definitely NOT from the books.

    Like this

Leave a Reply

