The Bookie In Me


I am a major bookie, which would make me a book purist by nature. I am fine with changes within the movie adaptation of one of my favorite books or book series if ‘the spirit of the material’ is adhered to for the most part. I understand some changes as long as they don’t take away from the character’s arc.

Needless to say, when I read that one of my favorite new books/series, ‘A Discovery of Witches’, written brilliantly by Deborah Harkness, was to be adapted into a movie courtesy of Warner Brothers, I was a little nervous and apprehensive about the idea. The reason for this is that I have been burned before and deeply disappointed with some of these adaptations. And I am not even the author!

I posed this question to the author on her Facebook Page “How much input are you going to have with the Warner Brothers adaptation of A Discovery of Witches?” and she kindly responded.

Here is her response: “I’m sort of like the Queen of England: I am allowed to advise, counsel, and warn. But I have no veto power, or creative control–nor should I. I’m a novelist, not a film maker and I would like to finish book #3 for you!”

I loved her answer, especially the “I’m sort of like the Queen of England’ bit and it is comforting to know that she will be a part of the movie adaptation in some capacity so I am looking forward to seeing this on the big screen. Deborah has such a strong sense of her character’s and their motivations that I know she will ‘advise and counsel’ well. Who else is looking forward to seeing ADOW on the big screen? Now, the next big question is who will play Matthew? I’ve got some ideas! What are yours? Who will play Diana? Sound off below!

Special thanks to Deborah Harkness for answering a bookie’s question! :)

*top image from roberson.edublog

About Nymerias S

I am an avid book reader and when I am not writing for these two blogs that is what I am doing. I love Boardwalk Empire, Game of Thrones, Big Bang Theory, Criminal Minds, Blue Bloods and many other shows. I am very much looking forward to the Outlander series that will soon be on Starz! I also enjoy classic books and legal thrillers.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Bookie In Me

  1. Tanya S says:

    I’m reading the 2nd book now Shadow of The Night could not put the first one down….can’t wait for the movie! Awesome

    Like

Leave a Reply

